Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Spain vs United States
| Overview | Spain | United States |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 119,900Estimate · people · 2026Single source2026 estimate. NATO peacetime military personnel strength; excludes trained reserves held at high readiness. National reporting coverage may differ from regular-force-only headcounts. | 1,321,900Estimate · people · 2026Single source2026 estimate. NATO peacetime military personnel strength; excludes trained reserves held at high readiness. National reporting coverage may differ from regular-force-only headcounts. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 199,000people · 2020Single source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 1,395,000people · 2020Single source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | 149Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing aircraft classified as Combat aircraft by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of combat readiness. | 2,679Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing aircraft classified as Combat aircraft by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of combat readiness. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$28.9bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 28.9bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [b] Includes military pensions. 2024 and 2025 budget not passed - 2023 budget carried over. 2025 figure includes extra-budgetary funds for defence announced April 2025. | US$1.01tnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 1.01trn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [b] National Defense Budget Function (50) Budget Authority. Includes DoD funding, as well as funds for nuclear weapons- related activities undertaken by the Department of Energy. Excludes some military retirement and healthcare costs. 2025 figure does not include supplemental funding for Ukraine or Israel. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$2.04tnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 2.04trn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$31.8tnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 31.8trn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | 274Estimate · vehicles · 2025 edition; census date not statedSingle sourceSpanish in-service MBT fleet: 55 Leopard 2A4 and 219 Leopard 2E. Excludes 25 additional Leopard 2A4 explicitly in store; excludes Centauro assault guns. | 2,640Estimate · vehicles · 2025 edition; census date not statedSingle sourceUS Army in-service Abrams MBT inventory including National Guard holdings; excludes approximately 1,500 additional M1A1/A2 in store and M10 Booker light tanks. |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | 11Estimate · vessels · 30 Jun 2025Single sourceCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates in the national fleet; excludes aircraft carriers, corvettes, patrol, amphibious and support vessels. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. | 85Estimate · vessels · 20 Jan 2025Single sourceCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates in the national fleet; excludes aircraft carriers, corvettes, patrol, amphibious and support vessels. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 49,355,143people · 2025Single source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 341,784,857people · 2025Single source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 13,100Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational military reserve pool; excludes the separately reported active and paramilitary personnel. Training/mobilisation definitions remain source-specific. | 804,800Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational military reserve pool; excludes the separately reported active and paramilitary personnel. Training/mobilisation definitions remain source-specific. |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | 2Estimate · vessels · 30 Jun 2025Single sourceCommissioned military submarines in the national fleet; excludes orders, construction and uncommissioned trial boats. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. | 68Estimate · vessels · 20 Jan 2025Single sourceCommissioned military submarines in the national fleet; excludes orders, construction and uncommissioned trial boats. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | 51Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing military transport aircraft classified as Transport by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Includes strategic, tactical and light liaison/utility transport aircraft; excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of immediate availability. | 918Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing military transport aircraft classified as Transport by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Includes strategic, tactical and light liaison/utility transport aircraft; excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of immediate availability. |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | 3,700Estimate · warheads · 2026 estimateSingle sourceWarheads in the military stockpile: in the custody of the military and earmarked for use by military forces, deployed or in reserve. Excludes retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
650 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Spain | United States |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| B-2 Spirit | — | 202025 |
| Boeing B-52 Stratofortress | — | 58US Air Force (USAF) · 2025 46US Air Force • Global Strike Command · 2025 18Air Force Reserve Command · 2025 72Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| Boeing F-15EX Eagle II | — | 6US Air Force (USAF) · 2025 8Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| Boeing F/A-18E/F Super Hornet | — | 12Naval Aviation Reserve · 2025 319Naval Aviation · 2025 549Navy · 2026Wikipedia 549Navy · 2026Wikipedia |
| Dassault Mirage III | In service | — |
| Eurofighter Typhoon | 67Spanish Air and Space Force · 2026Wikipedia 67Spanish Air and Space Force · 2026Wikipedia 69Air & Space Force · 2025 | — |
| F-15 Eagle | — | 82Air National Guard · 2025 8Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| F-16 Fighting Falcon | — | 8262025 22Navy · 2026Wikipedia |
| F-22 Raptor | — | 165US Air Force (USAF) · 2025 20Air National Guard · 2025 183Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| F-35 Lightning II | — | 398US Air Force (USAF) · 2025 85Naval Aviation · 2025 186Marine Corps Aviation · 2025 60Air National Guard · 2025 16Air Force Reserve Command · 2025 302Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 112Marine Corps · 2026Wikipedia 45Navy · 2026Wikipedia 112Marine Corps · 2026Wikipedia |
| Fairchild Republic A-10 Thunderbolt II | — | 71US Air Force (USAF) · 2025 46Air National Guard · 2025 42Air Force Reserve Command · 2025 162Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Lockheed AC-130 | — | 28Air Force Special Operations Command (AFSOC) · 2025 31Air Force · 2022Wikipedia |
| Equipment | Spain | United States |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Centurion (tank) | — | In service |
| Leopard 2 | 55Army · 2025 55Spanish Army · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Leopard 2E | 219Army · 2025 219Spanish Army · 2025 | — |
| M1 Abrams | — | 780US Army · 2025 2,640United States Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| M48 Patton | — | In service |
| M60 tank | In service | — |
| M915 (truck) | — | In service |
| Stingray light tank | — | In service |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| Alvis Saracen | — | In service |
| Armored Multi-Purpose Vehicle | — | 276United States Army · 2023Wikipedia |
| ASCOD | 2252025 | — |
| Assault Amphibious Vehicle | In service | 1,200Marine Corps · 2025 |
| Equipment | Spain | United States |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| AN/TWQ-1 Avenger | — | 453US Army · 2025 453United States Army · 2024Wikipedia |
| MIM-23 Hawk | 282025 | — |
| Mistral (missile) | 168Spanish Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| NASAMS | 8Army · 2025 8Spanish Army · 2025 | In service |
| Patriot | 182025 | 4682025 5United States Army · 2024Wikipedia 55United States Army · 2024Wikipedia |
| Phalanx CIWS | — | In service |
| RIM-116 Rolling Airframe Missile | — | In service |
| RIM-161 Standard Missile 3 | — | In service |
| RIM-162 ESSM | In service | In service |
| RIM-174 Standard ERAM | — | In service |
| RIM-67 Standard | — | In service |
| RIM-7 Sea Sparrow | — | In service |
| Equipment | Spain | United States |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| Accuracy International Arctic Warfare | In service | — |
| Accuracy International AWM | — | In service |
| AMD-65 | — | In service |
| AR-M1 | — | In service |
| Barrett M82 | In service | In service |
| Barrett M95 | In service | — |
| Barrett MRAD | — | In service |
| Benelli M4 | In service | In service |
| Beretta APX | — | In service |
| Beretta M12 | — | In service |
| Beretta M9 | — | In service |
| Blaser R93 Tactical | — | In service |
| Equipment | Spain | United States |
|---|---|---|
| Remote weapon stations | ||
| CROWS | — | In service |
| Protector RWS | — | In service |
| Equipment | Spain | United States |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| Advanced Combat Optical Gunsight | In service | In service |
| Aimpoint CompM2 | — | In service |
| Aimpoint CompM4 | — | In service |
| AN/FPS-117 | — | 14Strategic Defenses – Early Warning · 2025 |
| AN/PEQ-15 | — | In service |
| AN/PEQ-2 | — | In service |
| AN/PVS-4 | In service | In service |
| AN/PVS-7 | — | In service |
| AN/TPQ-36 Firefinder radar | In service | In service |
| AN/TPS-43 | 1Spanish Air and Space Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| ARTHUR | In service | — |
| C79 optical sight | — | In service |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cited source 2020-11-28 | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-17 | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-17 | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-11-30 | 40 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 15 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 19 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 10 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 7 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 14 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 15 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 67 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 81 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 11 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
No shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 7,600 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cited source 2015-04-02 | 2,386 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2022-11-03 | 31 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2022-11-03 | 31 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2023-09-02 | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2024-02-12 | 1,076 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 495 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 127 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 28 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 183 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 218 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 57 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 29 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 495 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 127 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 28 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 183 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 218 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 57 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 151 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 29 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2025-06-20 | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2025-06-27 | 162 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-06-27 | 162 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1,200 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 98 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 18 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 17 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 27 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 30 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 7 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 108,800 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 5,651 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |