Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Spain vs Türkiye
| Overview | Spain | Türkiye |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 119,900Estimate · people · 2026Single source2026 estimate. NATO peacetime military personnel strength; excludes trained reserves held at high readiness. National reporting coverage may differ from regular-force-only headcounts. | 395,800Estimate · people · 2026Single source2026 estimate. NATO peacetime military personnel strength; excludes trained reserves held at high readiness. National reporting coverage may differ from regular-force-only headcounts. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 199,000people · 2020Single source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 512,000people · 2020Single source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | 149Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing aircraft classified as Combat aircraft by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of combat readiness. | 201Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing aircraft classified as Combat aircraft by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of combat readiness. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$28.9bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 28.9bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [b] Includes military pensions. 2024 and 2025 budget not passed - 2023 budget carried over. 2025 figure includes extra-budgetary funds for defence announced April 2025. | US$20.8bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 20.8bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [b] Includes funding for Secretariat of Defence Industries (SSB); Defence Industry Support Fund; TUBITAK Defense Industries R&D Institute (SAGE); and military pensions The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$2.04tnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 2.04trn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$1.58tnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 1.58trn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | 274Estimate · vehicles · 2025 edition; census date not statedSingle sourceSpanish in-service MBT fleet: 55 Leopard 2A4 and 219 Leopard 2E. Excludes 25 additional Leopard 2A4 explicitly in store; excludes Centauro assault guns. | 2,378Estimate · vehicles · 2025 edition; census date not statedSingle sourceTurkish national MBT fleet across Leopard 1/2, M60 and M48 types; includes equipment being upgraded but excludes future Altay orders. |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | 11Estimate · vessels · 30 Jun 2025Single sourceCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates in the national fleet; excludes aircraft carriers, corvettes, patrol, amphibious and support vessels. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. | 17Estimate · vessels · 22 Jan 2025Single sourceCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates in the national fleet; excludes aircraft carriers, corvettes, patrol, amphibious and support vessels. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 49,355,143people · 2025Single source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 85,878,556people · 2025Single source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 13,100Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational military reserve pool; excludes the separately reported active and paramilitary personnel. Training/mobilisation definitions remain source-specific. | 378,700Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational military reserve pool; excludes the separately reported active and paramilitary personnel. Training/mobilisation definitions remain source-specific. |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | 2Estimate · vessels · 30 Jun 2025Single sourceCommissioned military submarines in the national fleet; excludes orders, construction and uncommissioned trial boats. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. | 13Estimate · vessels · 22 Jan 2025Single sourceCommissioned military submarines in the national fleet; excludes orders, construction and uncommissioned trial boats. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | 51Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing military transport aircraft classified as Transport by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Includes strategic, tactical and light liaison/utility transport aircraft; excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of immediate availability. | 84Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing military transport aircraft classified as Transport by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Includes strategic, tactical and light liaison/utility transport aircraft; excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of immediate availability. |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
506 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Spain | Türkiye |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| Canadair CF-5 | — | 18Turkish Air Force · 2024 |
| Dassault Mirage III | In service | — |
| Eurofighter Typhoon | 67Spanish Air and Space Force · 2026Wikipedia 67Spanish Air and Space Force · 2026Wikipedia 69Air & Space Force · 2025 | 44Turkish Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| F-16 Fighting Falcon | — | 235Turkish Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 40Turkish Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 235Turkish Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| McDonnell Douglas AV-8B Harrier II | 132024 | — |
| McDonnell Douglas F-4 Phantom II | — | 482024 |
| McDonnell Douglas F/A-18 Hornet | 81Spanish Air and Space Force · 2026Wikipedia 81Spanish Air and Space Force · 2026Wikipedia 20Air & Space Force · 2025 | — |
| Northrop F-5 | 19Spanish Air and Space Force · 2026Wikipedia 19Spanish Air and Space Force · 2026Wikipedia 19Air & Space Force · 2025 | — |
| Supermarine Spitfire | — | In service |
| TAI TF Kaan | — | 20Turkish Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| Support aircraft | ||
| A330 MRTT | 1Air & Space Force · 2025 | — |
| A400M Atlas | 14Spanish Air and Space Force · 2026Wikipedia 14Spanish Air and Space Force · 2026Wikipedia 13Air & Space Force · 2025 | 10Air Force · 2025 10Turkish Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 10Turkish Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Equipment | Spain | Türkiye |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Altay (tank) | — | 3Army · 2025 5Turkish Land Forces · 2023Wikipedia |
| Leopard 1 | — | 397Army · 2025 398Turkish Land Forces · 2024Wikipedia |
| Leopard 2 | 55Army · 2025 55Spanish Army · 2025Wikipedia | 236Army · 2025 350Turkish Land Forces · 2026Wikipedia |
| Leopard 2E | 219Army · 2025 219Spanish Army · 2025 | — |
| M48 Patton | — | 7502025 |
| M60 tank | In service | 815Army · 2025 650Turkish Land Forces · 2024Wikipedia |
| M60T tank | — | 1652025 |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| AIFV | — | In service |
| ASCOD | 2252025 | — |
| Assault Amphibious Vehicle | In service | In service |
| BMC Altuğ | — | In service |
| BMC Amazon | — | In service |
| Equipment | Spain | Türkiye |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| Aselsan Gökdeniz | — | In service |
| ATILGAN PMSS | — | 70Turkish Land Forces · 2026Wikipedia |
| DARDO | — | In service |
| Hisar (missile family) | — | 12Army · 2025 |
| KORKUT | — | 42Army · 2025 42Turkish Land Forces · 2025 |
| M42 Duster | — | In service |
| MIM-23 Hawk | 282025 | 24Air Force · 2025 24Turkish Air Force · 2025 |
| Mistral (missile) | 168Spanish Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| NASAMS | 8Army · 2025 8Spanish Army · 2025 | — |
| Patriot | 182025 | — |
| Phalanx CIWS | — | In service |
| Rapier (missile) | — | In service |
| Equipment | Spain | Türkiye |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| Accuracy International Arctic Warfare | In service | In service |
| Accuracy International AWM | — | In service |
| Accuracy International AX50 | — | In service |
| AGS-17 | — | In service |
| Akdal MKA 1919 | — | In service |
| AOR M21 | — | In service |
| Barrett M82 | In service | In service |
| Barrett M95 | In service | In service |
| Benelli M4 | In service | In service |
| Beretta 92 | — | In service |
| Browning Hi-Power | — | In service |
| Brügger & Thomet APC | — | In service |
| Equipment | Spain | Türkiye |
|---|---|---|
| Remote weapon stations | ||
| Aselsan SMASH 200/25 | — | In service |
| Aselsan STAMP | — | In service |
| Equipment | Spain | Türkiye |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| ACAR Ground Surveillance Radar | — | In service |
| Advanced Combat Optical Gunsight | In service | — |
| Aimpoint CompM4 | — | In service |
| ALP 100-G | — | In service |
| ALP 300-G | — | In service |
| AN/FPS-117 | — | In service |
| AN/MPQ-64 Sentinel | — | In service |
| AN/PVS-4 | In service | In service |
| AN/TPQ-36 Firefinder radar | In service | In service |
| AN/TPQ-37 Firefinder radar | — | In service |
| AN/TPS-43 | 1Spanish Air and Space Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| ARTHUR | In service | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 67 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 16 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 26 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 12 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 5 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 8 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 110 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 15 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 6 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 8 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 258 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 6 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 14 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 8 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 3 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 13 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 11 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1,200 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
No shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 3,200 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 cited source period | 12 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2024 cited source period | ≥360 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2024 cited source period | ≥54 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2024 cited source period | ≥36 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2024 cited source period | 36 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2024 cited source period | 12 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 2024 cited source period | ≥360 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 2024 cited source period | ≥54 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 2024 cited source period | ≥36 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 2024 cited source period | 36 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 2024 cited source period | 150 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 10 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 2025 cited source period | 68 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 10 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 14 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 57 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 40 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 815 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 9 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 11 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 12 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 12 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 90 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 3 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 9 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 8 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 14 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 76 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 5,500 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 3,148 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |