Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Malaysia vs Myanmar
| Overview | Malaysia | Myanmar |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 113,000Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceFull-time active military personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Excludes the separately reported Reserve military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date or a 2026 headcount. | 134,000Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 136,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 463,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$5.08bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 5.08bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$2.47bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD ε2.47bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The printed ε marks this cell as estimated. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$505bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 505bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$65.2bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 65.2bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 35,977,838people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 54,850,648people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 53,600Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | 0Estimate · people · 2025 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2025 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
447 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Malaysia | Myanmar |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| British Aerospace Hawk 200 | 12Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 12Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Chengdu J-7 | — | 11Myanmar Air Force · 2025 ≥36Myanmar Air Force · 2023Wikipedia |
| JF-17 Thunder | — | 4Myanmar Air Force · 2025 ≥11Myanmar Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| McDonnell Douglas F/A-18 Hornet | 7Air Force · 2025 7Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 7Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Mikoyan MiG-29 | — | 10Myanmar Air Force · 2025 38Myanmar Air Force · 2023Wikipedia |
| Nanchang Q-5 | — | 24Myanmar Air Force · 2023Wikipedia 24Myanmar Air Force · 2023Wikipedia |
| Shenyang J-6 | — | 12024 |
| Sukhoi Su-30 | 18Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 18Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | 6Myanmar Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 6Myanmar Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Sukhoi Su-30MKM | 18Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Support aircraft | ||
| A400M Atlas | 4Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 4Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 4Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Airbus A319 | 1Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 1Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| ATR 42 | — | 3Myanmar Air Force · 2025 3Naval aviation · 2026Wikipedia 3Naval aviation · 2026Wikipedia 3equipment in the Myanmar Navy · 2026Wikipedia 3equipment in the Myanmar Navy · 2026Wikipedia |
| Equipment | Malaysia | Myanmar |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Al-Khalid tank | In service | In service |
| AMX-13 | 18Malaysian Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| PT-91 Twardy | 48Army · 2025 49Malaysian Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Stingray light tank | In service | — |
| T-54/T-55 | — | 10Myanmar Army · 2025 |
| T-84 | In service | — |
| Type 59 tank | — | ≥25Myanmar Army · 2025 |
| Type 63 (tank) | — | 150Myanmar Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| Type 69 tank | — | 130Myanmar Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| Anoa (armoured personnel carrier) | In service | — |
| BRDM-2 | — | ≥100Myanmar Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| BTR-3 | — | ≥10Myanmar Army · 2025 |
| Equipment | Malaysia | Myanmar |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| 2K12 Kub | — | 24Myanmar Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| 2K22 Tunguska | — | 41Myanmar Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| AK-630 | — | In service |
| DARDO | In service | — |
| HN-5 | — | 200Myanmar Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| HQ-12 | — | In service |
| HQ-22 | — | In service |
| Pantsir missile system | — | In service |
| Rapier (missile) | 3Malaysian Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| S-125 Neva/Pechora | — | In service |
| S-75 Dvina | — | 48Myanmar Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| Sea Wolf (missile) | In service | — |
| Equipment | Malaysia | Myanmar |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| Accuracy International Arctic Warfare | In service | — |
| Accuracy International AW50 | In service | — |
| Accuracy International AWM | In service | — |
| Accuracy International AX50 | In service | — |
| AGS-17 | — | In service |
| AK-102 | In service | — |
| AK-74 | — | In service |
| Barrett M82 | In service | — |
| Barrett M95 | In service | — |
| Barrett REC10 | In service | — |
| Benelli M3 | In service | — |
| Benelli M4 | In service | — |
| Equipment | Malaysia | Myanmar |
|---|---|---|
| Remote weapon stations | ||
| Reutech Rogue | In service | — |
| Equipment | Malaysia | Myanmar |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| Aimpoint CompM2 | In service | — |
| AN/FPS-117 | In service | — |
| ARTHUR | 2Malaysian Army · 2013Wikipedia | — |
| Central acquisition radar (3D-CAR) | — | In service |
| Giraffe radar | 2Malaysian Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Ground Master 200 | 1Malaysian Army · 2022Wikipedia | — |
| Ground Master 400 | In service | — |
| JLG-43 Radar | — | 3Myanmar Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| JLP-40 Radar | — | 3Myanmar Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| JY-8 Radar | — | 1Myanmar Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| LLM01 | In service | — |
| P-18 radar | — | In service |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 cited source period | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 2023 cited source period | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2024-10-22 | ≥2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2024-10-22 | ≥2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 6 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 18 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 20 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 12 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 16 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 13 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 12 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
No shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 2,900 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 cited source period | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2015 cited source period | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2021-12-24 | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 24 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 10 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 16 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | ≥60 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 24 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 22 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 15 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 7 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 24 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | ≥36 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 38 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-01-07 | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2025-11-19 | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 120 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 7 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 9 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥11 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 80 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 260 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 7 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |