Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.

Tanks1948–present
Medium tank (Warsaw Pact designation) Main battle tank (NATO designation)
T-54/T-55 is a medium tank (Warsaw Pact designation) Main battle tank (NATO designation) originating in Soviet Union. The cited manufacturer or builder is KhPZ , UVZ (Soviet Union) Bumar-Łabędy (Poland) ZTS Martin (Czechoslovakia).
T-54/T-55
From US Army Field Manual 100-2-3 - The Soviet Army; Troops Organisation and Equipment · Public domain · Resized · Public domain · Source ↗ · ModifiedTechnical data
True scale
Sourced dimensions beside a 1.75 m human reference.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| 28 Sept 2026 | 9 m | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 28 Sept 2026 | 9 m | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 28 Sept 2026 | 9 m | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 28 Sept 2026 | 9 m | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
Medium tank (Warsaw Pact designation) Main battle tank (NATO designation)
Soviet Union
1948–present
See Operators
See Service History
KMDB (T-54) OKB-520 (T-54A and later)
1945–1958
KhPZ , UVZ (Soviet Union) Bumar-Łabędy (Poland) ZTS Martin (Czechoslovakia)
US$ 200,000 (export price to Egypt , 1956–1972)
1946–1981 (Soviet Union) 1956–1979 (Poland) 1957–1983 (Czechoslovakia) 1958-1985 (China)
96,500–100,000+ est., including: More than 35,000 T-54 and More than 27,500 T-55 (by Soviet Union) 13,000 Type-59/69/79 (by China) 11,000 T-54/55 (by Czechoslovakia) 10,000 T-54/55 (by Poland)
See Operators and variants section below
36 metric tons (35.4 long tons; 39.7 short tons)
9.00 m (29 ft 6 in) with gun forward
3.37 m (11 ft 1 in)
2.40 m (7 ft 10 in)
4
205 mm turret front 130 mm turret sides 60 mm turret rear 30 mm turret roof 120 mm hull front at 60° (100 mm after 1949) 79 mm hull upper sides 20 mm hull lower sides 60 mm at 0° hull rear 20 mm hull bottom 33–16 mm hull roof
D-10T 100 mm rifled gun (43 rounds)
7.62 mm SGMT coaxial machine gun, (12.7 mm DShK heavy machine gun)
Model V-55(V-54) V-12 water-cooled. 38.88-litre diesel 500 horsepower (373 kW) up to 800 horsepower (600 kW) (late versions)
14.6 horsepower per metric ton (10.9 kW/t)
Mechanical ( synchromesh ), 5 forward, 1 reverse gears
Torsion bar
0.425 m (16.7 in)
580 L internal, 320 L external (less on early T54), 400 L jettisonable rear drums
325 kilometres (202 mi), 610 kilometres (380 mi) with extra tanks (on unpaved roads)
51 kilometres per hour (32 mph)
Reference text from Wikipedia contributors, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
T-54/T-55 equipment records. Variants, orders and quantities are shown as reported in each inventory source; coverage is incomplete.
Lower-bound count for T-55. Country-wide list; no individual service specified. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): quantity: 110+. Origin: Soviet Union Czechoslovakia. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. The components do not establish one inventory census date; the stored date is the retrieved source snapshot.
Number column of the Wikipedia list table under "Vehicles". The list's own wording applies; it is a compiled secondary source, not an official census.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-55; T-54. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-54/T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Number column of the Wikipedia list table under "Tanks". The list's own wording applies; it is a compiled secondary source, not an official census.
Reported count for T-54/T-55. Service scope: Egyptian Army; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Excludes retired/reserve/on-order rows. Count column(s): in service: 100. Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. The components do not establish one inventory census date; the stored date is the retrieved source snapshot.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-54/T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Number column of the Wikipedia list table under "Tanks". The list's own wording applies; it is a compiled secondary source, not an official census.
Reported count for T-54. Service scope: Guinean Army; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): quantity: 8. Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. Dates are the count-cell citations' stated source period (2021), not the article revision. 2021 cited publication year. Edition or publication years do not claim an exact inventory census day.
Reported count for T-55. Service scope: Guinea-Bissau Army; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): quantity: 10. Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. Dates are the count-cell citations' stated source period (2021), not the article revision. 2021 cited publication year. Edition or publication years do not claim an exact inventory census day.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-54/T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Reported count for T-54/T-55. Country-wide list; no individual service specified. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): quantity: 47 T-55 185 T-54 as of 2024.. Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. The components do not establish one inventory census date; the stored date is the retrieved source snapshot.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Lower-bound count for T-54/T-55 · T-55A T-55E. Service scope: Libyan Army; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): number: 60+. Origin: Soviet Union Egypt. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. The components do not establish one inventory census date; the stored date is the retrieved source snapshot.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-54/T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-54/T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-54. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Reported count for T-54. Service scope: Army equipment; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): quantity: 7. Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. Dates are the count-cell citations' stated source period (2000), not the article revision. Cited source 2000-12-20. Edition or publication years do not claim an exact inventory census day.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Approximate count for T-54 · T-55. Service scope: Nigerian Army; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Excludes retired/reserve/on-order rows. Count column(s): quantity: ~100. Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. The components do not establish one inventory census date; the stored date is the retrieved source snapshot.
Reported count for T-54/T-55. Service scope: Pakistan Army; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Excludes retired/reserve/on-order rows. Count column(s): in service: 54 (in reserve). Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. The components do not establish one inventory census date; the stored date is the retrieved source snapshot.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-54/T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-55AM. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Reported count for T-54/T-55. Service scope: Russian Ground Forces; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): quantity: 120. Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. Dates are the count-cell citations' stated source period (2026), not the article revision. Cited source 2026-02-24. Edition or publication years do not claim an exact inventory census day.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-54/T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-54/T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-54/T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Ugandan People’s Defence Force exact named equipment holdings: T-54/T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Reported count for T-55 · M-55S. Country-wide list; no individual service specified. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): number: 26. Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. Dates are the count-cell citations' stated source period (2024), not the article revision. 2024 cited reference period. Edition or publication years do not claim an exact inventory census day.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-54/T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-55. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Reported count for T-54/55. Service scope: Zimbabwe National Army; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): number: 20. Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. The components do not establish one inventory census date; the stored date is the retrieved source snapshot.
Egypt, India, North Korea, Pakistan, Poland, Russia, Ukraine
Equipment reference ↗Army holdings of the exact named T-54/T-55 component; source lower bound; upper bound not specified. Active, reserve operational and training units, excluding equipment in store. This is a service-scoped observation, not a national total or combat readiness. Any explicit leased subset is included in, not added to, the quoted total. No parent-design or sibling-variant count inherited.
Army holdings of the exact named T-55 component, counted as equipment units: active, operational reserve and training equipment, excluding equipment in store. Service-scoped IISS observation, not a national total or combat-readiness figure. No parent, sibling, mounted-weapon or heading aggregate quantity inherited.
Army holdings of the exact named T-54/T-55 component: active, reserve operational and training units, excluding equipment in store. This is a service-scoped observation, not a national total or combat-readiness count. No parent-design, sibling-variant, heading aggregate or mounted-weapon total is inherited.
Reported count for T-55. Service scope: current equipment of the Iraqi Ground Forces; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): in service: 150. Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. Dates are the count-cell citations' stated source period (2024), not the article revision. 2024 cited source edition. Edition or publication years do not claim an exact inventory census day.
Army holdings of the exact named T-54 component, counted as equipment units: active, operational reserve and training equipment, excluding equipment in store. Service-scoped IISS observation, not a national total or combat-readiness figure. No parent, sibling, mounted-weapon or heading aggregate quantity inherited. Source + explicitly states a lower bound; no upper bound is inferred. Source lower bound; upper bound not specified.
Approximate count for T-55. Service scope: Peruvian Army; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): in service: ~280. Origin: USSR. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. The components do not establish one inventory census date; the stored date is the retrieved source snapshot.
Approximate count for T-55 · T-55AM T-55AM2. Service scope: Land Forces; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): numbers: ~162. Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. Dates are the count-cell citations' stated source period (2022), not the article revision. 2022 cited source edition. Edition or publication years do not claim an exact inventory census day.
Naval Infantry (Marines) exact named equipment holdings: T-55A. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: T-55A. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / MBT. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Reported count for T-55 / T-54. Service scope: Army equipment; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): quantity: 140. Origin: Soviet Union. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. Dates are the count-cell citations' stated source period (2023), not the article revision. 2023 cited source edition. Edition or publication years do not claim an exact inventory census day.
Army holdings of the exact named T-54/T-55 component: active, reserve operational and training units, excluding equipment in store. This is a service-scoped observation, not a national total or combat-readiness count. No parent-design, sibling-variant, heading aggregate or mounted-weapon total is inherited.
Army holdings of the exact named T-55 component, counted as equipment units: active, operational reserve and training equipment, excluding equipment in store. Service-scoped IISS observation, not a national total or combat-readiness figure. No parent, sibling, mounted-weapon or heading aggregate quantity inherited.