Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Greece vs Ukraine
| Overview | Greece | Ukraine |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 113,100Estimate · people · 2026Single source2026 estimate. NATO peacetime military personnel strength; excludes trained reserves held at high readiness. National reporting coverage may differ from regular-force-only headcounts. | 677,000Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. The printed ε identifies an IISS estimate. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 147,000people · 2020Single source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 298,000people · 2020Single source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | 178Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing aircraft classified as Combat aircraft by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of combat readiness. | 100Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing aircraft classified as Combat aircraft by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of combat readiness. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$7.89bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 7.89bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [b] Includes military pensions The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$42.3bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 42.3bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [a] 2025 defence budget includes supplementary funding The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$305bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 305bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$224bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 224bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 10,413,962people · 2025Single source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 38,980,376people · 2025Single source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 264,500Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational military reserve pool; excludes the separately reported active and paramilitary personnel. Training/mobilisation definitions remain source-specific. | 0Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | 9vessels · 29 Sept 2026Single sourceCommissioned military submarines in the national fleet; excludes orders, construction and uncommissioned trial boats. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. | 0Estimate · vessels · 30 Jan 2025Single sourceCommissioned military submarines in the national fleet; excludes orders, construction and uncommissioned trial boats. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | 15Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing military transport aircraft classified as Transport by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Includes strategic, tactical and light liaison/utility transport aircraft; excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of immediate availability. | 24Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing military transport aircraft classified as Transport by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Includes strategic, tactical and light liaison/utility transport aircraft; excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of immediate availability. |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | 1,385Estimate · vehicles · 2025 edition; census date not statedSingle sourceGreek national in-service MBT holdings across Leopard 1/2, M48 and M60. Includes training and maintenance inventory; deployed vehicles are not counted a second time. | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | 13Estimate · vessels · 1 Feb 2025Single sourceCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates in the national fleet; excludes aircraft carriers, corvettes, patrol, amphibious and support vessels. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
831 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Greece | Ukraine |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| F-16 Fighting Falcon | 1522024 | 39Ukrainian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| Lockheed Martin F-16V Viper | 42Tactical Air Force · 2025 | — |
| McDonnell Douglas F-4 Phantom II | 32Tactical Air Force · 2025 16Hellenic Air Force · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| Mikoyan MiG-29 | — | 14Air Force · 2025 45Ukrainian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| Mirage 2000 | 292024 | 6Ukrainian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Rafale | 192024 | — |
| Sukhoi Su-24 | — | 132024 |
| Sukhoi Su-25 | — | 212024 |
| Sukhoi Su-27 | — | 292024 |
| Support aircraft | ||
| Alenia C-27J Spartan | 8Air Support Command · 2025 8Hellenic Air Force · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| Antonov An-178 | — | In service |
| Antonov An-24 | — | 3Air Force · 2025 |
| Equipment | Greece | Ukraine |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Challenger 2 | — | 122025 |
| K1 tank | — | In service |
| Leopard 1 | 5002025 | 1572026Wikipedia |
| Leopard 2 | 183Army · 2025 353Hellenic Army · 2026Wikipedia | 61Army · 2025 |
| M-84 | — | 30Army · 2025 |
| M1 Abrams | — | 49Army · 2025 |
| M48 Patton | 375Army · 2025 390Hellenic Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| M60 tank | 157Army · 2025 100Hellenic Army · 2026Wikipedia | In service |
| PT-91 Twardy | — | 262024Wikipedia |
| T-54/T-55 | — | 262024Wikipedia |
| T-62 | — | In service |
| T-64 | — | ≥2002024Wikipedia |
| Equipment | Greece | Ukraine |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| 2K12 Kub | — | In service |
| 2K22 Tunguska | — | 70Army · 2025 |
| 9K33 Osa | 382025 | 63Army · 2025 |
| 9K35 Strela-10 | — | In service |
| AK-630 | In service | In service |
| Alvis Stormer | — | In service |
| AN/TWQ-1 Avenger | — | 6Army · 2025 |
| Artemis 30 | ≥35Air Defence · 2025 17Hellenic Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| ASRAD-HELLAS | 54Hellenic Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Aster (missile family) | — | 1Ukrainian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| CA-95 | — | In service |
| Crotale (missile) | 9Hellenic Air Force · 2023Wikipedia | In service |
| Equipment | Greece | Ukraine |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| AA-52 machine gun | — | In service |
| Accuracy International Arctic Warfare | — | In service |
| Accuracy International AWM | — | In service |
| AGS-17 | — | In service |
| AK-12 | — | In service |
| AK-47 | In service | — |
| AK-74 | In service | In service |
| Akdal MKA 1919 | — | In service |
| AKM | — | In service |
| AKS-74U | — | In service |
| AOR M21 | In service | — |
| APS underwater rifle | — | In service |
| Equipment | Greece | Ukraine |
|---|---|---|
| Remote weapon stations | ||
| Protector RWS | — | In service |
| Equipment | Greece | Ukraine |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| 1PN58 | — | In service |
| Aimpoint CompM2 | In service | In service |
| Aimpoint CompM4 | In service | — |
| AN/FPS-117 | In service | — |
| AN/MPQ-64 Sentinel | — | 8Ukrainian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| AN/PVS-14 | — | In service |
| AN/PVS-7 | — | In service |
| AN/TPQ-36 Firefinder radar | — | In service |
| AN/TPQ-37 Firefinder radar | 18Hellenic Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| AN/TPQ-53 Quick Reaction Capability Radar | — | In service |
| ARTHUR | 3Hellenic Army · 2026Wikipedia | In service |
| BOR-A 550 | 20Hellenic Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cited source 2021-10-19 | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2023-02-15 | 40 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2023-02-15 | 9 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2023-02-15 | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2024 cited source period | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2024 cited source period | 45 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2024 cited source period | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2024 cited source period | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2024 cited source period | 16 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 120 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 100 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 8,000 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥24 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 95 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 320 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 135 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 257 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1,240 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 633 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 150 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2,049 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 491 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 113 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 60 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 15 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 438 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 21 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 196 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 262 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 141 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 10,841 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1,291 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 353 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 390 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 501 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 34 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 243 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 690 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 40 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 12 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 66 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 624 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 150 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 150 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 158 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 73 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 400 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 16 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 300 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
No shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 1,400 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 10 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 18 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 100 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 15 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥400 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥1,000 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 40 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 26 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 24 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 110 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 11 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 26 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥8 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 30 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 70 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥5,040 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 23 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥51 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 30 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 142 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 68 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥49 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥7 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 513 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 10 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥299 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 90 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 97 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥400 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 14 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |