Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Angola vs Equatorial Guinea
| Overview | Angola | Equatorial Guinea |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 107,000Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. | 1,750Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 117,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 1,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$1.38bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 1.38bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. | US$121mEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 121m. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$110bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 110bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$14.1bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 14.1bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 39,040,039people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 1,938,431people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 0Estimate · people · 2024 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2024 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | 0Estimate · people · 2025 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2025 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
150 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Angola | Equatorial Guinea |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-21 | 23National Air Force of Angola · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-23 | 22National Air Force of Angola · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Sukhoi Su-17 | 11National Air Force of Angola · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Sukhoi Su-25 | 112024 | 2Air Force · 2025 |
| Sukhoi Su-27 | 1National Air Force of Angola · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Sukhoi Su-30 | 12National Air Force of Angola · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Support aircraft | ||
| Antonov An-12 | 4Air Force/Air Defence · 2025 8National Air Force of Angola · 2025Wikipedia | 12023Wikipedia |
| Antonov An-26 | 1National Air Force of Angola · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Antonov An-32 | 2Air Force/Air Defence · 2025 4National Air Force of Angola · 2025Wikipedia | 12025Wikipedia |
| Antonov An-72 | 7Air Force/Air Defence · 2025 5National Air Force of Angola · 2025Wikipedia | 2Air Force · 2025 |
| C295 | 3National Air Force of Angola · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| CASA C-212 Aviocar | 2Air Force/Air Defence · 2025 2National Air Force of Angola · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Equipment | Angola | Equatorial Guinea |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| PT-76 | 10Army · 2025 10Angolan Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| T-54/T-55 | 2002024Wikipedia | 3Army · 2025 |
| T-62 | 50Army · 2025 50Angolan Army · 2025 | — |
| T-72 | 50Army · 2025 50Angolan Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| BMP-1 | 2502024Wikipedia | 20Army · 2025 |
| BMP-2 | 2502024Wikipedia | — |
| BRDM-2 | 600Army · 2025 600Angolan Army · 2025 | 6Army · 2025 |
| BTR-152 | 2002024Wikipedia | 10Army · 2025 |
| BTR-50 | In service | — |
| BTR-60 | 2002024Wikipedia | — |
| BTR-70 | 2002024Wikipedia | — |
| BTR-80 | 2002024Wikipedia | — |
| Equipment | Angola | Equatorial Guinea |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| 2K12 Kub | 16National Air Force of Angola · 2021Wikipedia | — |
| 9K31 Strela-1 | 20Air Force/Air Defence · 2025 20National Air Force of Angola · 2025 | — |
| 9K33 Osa | 15Air Force/Air Defence · 2025 15National Air Force of Angola · 2025 | — |
| 9K35 Strela-10 | 10Air Force/Air Defence · 2025 10National Air Force of Angola · 2021Wikipedia | — |
| S-125 Neva/Pechora | 12National Air Force of Angola · 2021Wikipedia | — |
| S-75 Dvina | 40National Air Force of Angola · 2021Wikipedia | — |
| ZSU-23-4 Shilka | In service | — |
| Anti-aircraft guns | ||
| 37 mm automatic air defense gun M1939 (61-K) | 4502024Wikipedia | — |
| AZP S-60 | 4502024Wikipedia | — |
| ZPU | 4502024Wikipedia | — |
| ZU-23-2 | 4502024Wikipedia | — |
| Portable air defence | ||
| 9K32 Strela-2 | In service | — |
| Equipment | Angola | Equatorial Guinea |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| AGS-17 | In service | — |
| AK-47 | In service | In service |
| AK-74 | In service | — |
| AKM | In service | In service |
| CETME rifle | — | In service |
| Degtyaryov machine gun | In service | In service |
| DShK | In service | In service |
| FN FAL | In service | In service |
| GP-25 | In service | — |
| Heckler & Koch G3 | In service | — |
| IWI Galil | — | In service |
| IWI Negev | — | In service |
| Equipment | Angola | Equatorial Guinea |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| P-12 radar | In service | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 38,984,796 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
No shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 1,900 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 1,853,559 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |