Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Algeria vs Libya
| Overview | Algeria | Libya |
|---|---|---|
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 326,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 0people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$25.2bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 25.2bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. | US$1.57bnUSD · 2023 annual observationSingle source2023 annual observation. Annual military expenditure, current US dollars at the year's exchange rate; not procurement orders. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$285bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 285bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$49.2bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 49.2bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 47,435,312people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 7,458,555people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 139,000Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceFull-time active military personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Excludes the separately reported Reserve military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date or a 2026 headcount. | —Not yet documented |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 150,000Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | —Not yet documented |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
364 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Algeria | Libya |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| Dassault Mirage F1 | — | 42024 |
| Mikoyan MiG-29 | 48Algerian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-21 | — | 122024 |
| Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-23 | — | 2Air Force · 2025 4–5Libyan Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| Su-35 | ≥5Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Sukhoi Su-17 | — | 12024 |
| Sukhoi Su-24 | 422025Wikipedia | 22024 |
| Sukhoi Su-30 | 722026Wikipedia | — |
| Sukhoi Su-34 | 142026Wikipedia | — |
| Support aircraft | ||
| Airbus A340 | 1Air Force · 2025 1Algerian Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Antonov An-12 | — | 32024 |
| Antonov An-32 | — | 22024 |
| Equipment | Algeria | Libya |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Haider (tank) | — | In service |
| M60 tank | — | In service |
| M60T tank | — | 7Libyan Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| T-54/T-55 | — | ≥60Libyan Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| T-62 | 200Army · 2025 200Algerian Land Forces · 2025 | ≥30Libyan Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| T-72 | 3252024Wikipedia | ≥20Libyan Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| T-90 | 6002025Wikipedia | — |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| Al-Fahd | In service | — |
| Algerian Terminator BMPT-62 | 96Algerian Land Forces · 2025 | — |
| Alvis Saracen | — | In service |
| BAE Caiman | — | In service |
| BCL-M5 | In service | — |
| Equipment | Algeria | Libya |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| 2K12 Kub | In service | In service |
| 9K31 Strela-1 | 20Army · 2025 20Algerian Land Forces · 2025 | In service |
| DARDO | In service | In service |
| Hisar (missile family) | — | ≥2Libyan Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| KORKUT | — | In service |
| MIM-23 Hawk | — | In service |
| Pantsir missile system | 1082024Wikipedia | — |
| S-125 Neva/Pechora | In service | 10Libyan Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| S-300 missile system | In service | — |
| S-350 missile system | In service | — |
| S-400 Triumf | In service | In service |
| Tor missile system | In service | In service |
| Equipment | Algeria | Libya |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| AGS-30 | In service | — |
| AK-103 | In service | In service |
| AK-47 | In service | In service |
| AK-74 | — | In service |
| AKM | In service | In service |
| AMD-65 | — | In service |
| AR-M1 | — | In service |
| Barrett M82 | — | In service |
| Benelli M4 | — | 1,800Libyan Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| Beretta 92 | In service | — |
| Beretta 93R | In service | — |
| Beretta AR70/90 | — | In service |
| Equipment | Algeria | Libya |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| Giraffe radar | In service | — |
| Kasta 2E | In service | — |
| LLM01 | In service | — |
| Nebo-SVU | In service | — |
| P-15 radar | In service | — |
| Communications & electronic warfare | ||
| KORAL electronic warfare system | — | In service |
| Krasukha | In service | In service |
| Polyana-D4 | In service | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 100 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 225 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 100 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 18 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 200 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | ≥5 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 54 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 110 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 150 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 35 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 30 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 39 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 10 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 100 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 8 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 25 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 150 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 250 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 26 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 220 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 18 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 30 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 48 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 48 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 3 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 3 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 8 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 12 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 7 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 20 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 30 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 140 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 60 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 10 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 42 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 54 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 100 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 24 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 120 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
A shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 1,500 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 7,464,417 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |