Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Indonesia vs Taiwan
| Overview | Indonesia | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 400,000Estimate · people · 2025Single sourceReported full-time active military personnel, including serving conscripts where present; reserve pools are not added. This is an estimated headcount, not an authorised establishment, mobilisation potential or readiness measure. The source identifies active Indonesian Armed Forces (TNI); the separately listed National Police are not added. | 170,000Estimate · people · 2025Single sourceReported full-time active military personnel, including serving conscripts where present; reserve pools are not added. This is an estimated headcount, not an authorised establishment, mobilisation potential or readiness measure. The source identifies active Armed Forces; no reserve pool or civilian security personnel are added. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 676,000people · 2020Single source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 180,800Estimate · people · 2025 edition; census date not statedSingle sourceIISS 2025 edition estimate of active armed forces plus the Coast Guard classified by IISS as paramilitary: 169,000 military personnel and 11,800 Coast Guard personnel. Excludes reserve personnel. This broader total is distinct from the active-regular-only figure. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | 75Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing aircraft classified as Combat aircraft by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of combat readiness. | 350Estimate · aircraft · 2025 assessment · published 23 Dec 2025Single sourceEstimated Taiwan fixed-wing combat aircraft in the 2025 U.S. government assessment: first fighter total of 350 plus 0 bombers/attack aircraft. Excludes the parenthesized figure including all fighter trainers and excludes transport/tankers and special-mission aircraft. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$11.2bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 11.2bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$21.2bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 21.2bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$1.55tnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 1.55trn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$971bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 971bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | 103Estimate · vehicles · 2025 edition; census date not statedSingle sourceNational Leopard 2 MBT fleet, comprising 42 Leopard 2A4 and 61 Leopard 2RI; excludes the separate AMX-13, Harimau and Scorpion light-tank category. | 750Estimate · vehicles · 2025 edition; census date not statedSingle sourceNational MBT fleet: Army 650 plus Marines 100. Excludes 100 CM-12 explicitly in store and M41 light tanks. |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | 7Estimate · vessels · 20 Jan 2025Single sourceCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates in the national fleet; excludes aircraft carriers, corvettes, patrol, amphibious and support vessels. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. | 26Estimate · vessels · 2025 assessment · published 23 Dec 2025Single sourceEstimated national naval cruisers, destroyers and frigates in the 2025 U.S. government Taiwan Strait force-balance assessment. Excludes aircraft carriers, corvettes, patrol, amphibious, Coast Guard and support vessels. Reported fleet quantity, not mission readiness. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 285,721,236people · 2025Single source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 23,600,776Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS population assessmentSingle sourceCurrent demographic population reported in the November 2025 IISS assessment. IISS identifies US Census Bureau demographic statistics as its population source. No underlying census date or 2026 population census is inferred. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 47,000people · 31 Dec 2025Single sourceApproximately 47,000 established Indonesian Komponen Cadangan (Komcad) members through 2025, reported at the February 2026 interministerial meeting. Covers this organized voluntary reserve programme; excludes the broader population with theoretical mobilization liability and the future ideal requirement. | 1,657,000Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational military reserve pool; excludes the separately reported active and paramilitary personnel. Training/mobilisation definitions remain source-specific. |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | 4Estimate · vessels · 20 Jan 2025Single sourceCommissioned military submarines in the national fleet; excludes orders, construction and uncommissioned trial boats. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. | 4Estimate · vessels · 24 Jun 2025Single sourceTaiwan's four operated submarines reported in June 2025: two Hai Lung-class boats and two older Hai Shih/Hai Pao boats used for training and other limited duties. Includes the older commissioned boats; excludes the then-undelivered Hai Kun prototype. |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | 70Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing military transport aircraft classified as Transport by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Includes strategic, tactical and light liaison/utility transport aircraft; excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of immediate availability. | 19Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing military transport aircraft classified as Transport by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Includes strategic, tactical and light liaison/utility transport aircraft; excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of immediate availability. |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
636 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Indonesia | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| AIDC F-CK-1 Ching-kuo | — | 129Republic of China Air Force · 2025 129Republic of China Air Force · 2023Wikipedia |
| British Aerospace Hawk 200 | 21Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 21Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| F-16 Fighting Falcon | 33Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 33Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | 1382024 |
| KAI KF-21 Boramae | 1Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| KAI T-50 Golden Eagle | 19Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 19Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Lockheed Martin F-16V Viper | — | 141Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 141Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| Mirage 2000 | — | 532024 52Republic of China Air Force · 2023Wikipedia |
| Northrop F-5 | — | 592024 |
| Rafale | 36Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Sukhoi Su-27 | 5Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 5Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 3Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Sukhoi Su-30 | 11Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 11Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 11Air Force · 2025 | — |
| TAI TF Kaan | 48Indonesian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Equipment | Indonesia | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| AMX-13 | 275Army · 2025 ≥120Indonesian Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| CM11 Brave Tiger | — | 450Republic of China Army · 2025 450Republic of China Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| FV101 Scorpion | 90Indonesian Army · 2010Wikipedia | — |
| K2 Black Panther | In service | — |
| Leopard 1 | 3Indonesian Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Leopard 2 | 42Army · 2025 107Indonesian Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| M1 Abrams | — | 80Republic of China Army · 2025 108Republic of China Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| M48 Patton | — | In service |
| M60 tank | — | 100Marines · 2025 200Republic of China Army · 2025 460Republic of China Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| PT-76 | 86Indonesian Navy · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Stingray light tank | — | In service |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| Alvis Saracen | 45Army · 2025 | — |
| Equipment | Indonesia | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| AK-630 | In service | — |
| Alvis Stormer | 40Indonesian Army · 2010Wikipedia | — |
| AN/TWQ-1 Avenger | — | 74Republic of China Army · 2025 |
| Antelope air defence system | — | In service |
| DARDO | In service | — |
| M-SAM | — | 29Republic of China Army · 2023Wikipedia 29Republic of China Army · 2023Wikipedia |
| M42 Duster | — | In service |
| M48 Chaparral | — | 2Republic of China Army · 2025 |
| Mistral (missile) | In service | — |
| Patriot | — | 9Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 9Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| Sea Wolf (missile) | In service | — |
| Sky Bow | — | ≥18Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia ≥18Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| Equipment | Indonesia | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| AA-52 machine gun | In service | — |
| Accuracy International Arctic Warfare | In service | — |
| Accuracy International AW50 | In service | — |
| Accuracy International AWM | In service | — |
| AK-101 | In service | — |
| AK-102 | In service | — |
| AK-47 | In service | — |
| AKM | In service | — |
| APS underwater rifle | In service | — |
| AR-M1 | In service | — |
| Barrett M82 | In service | In service |
| Barrett MRAD | In service | — |
| Equipment | Indonesia | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
| Remote weapon stations | ||
| Protector RWS | In service | In service |
| Equipment | Indonesia | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| Advanced Combat Optical Gunsight | In service | — |
| Aimpoint CompM4 | In service | — |
| AN/FPS-117 | — | 11Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 11Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| AN/PEQ-15 | In service | — |
| AN/PEQ-2 | In service | — |
| AN/PVS-14 | In service | — |
| AN/PVS-7 | In service | — |
| AN/TPQ-37 Firefinder radar | — | In service |
| AN/TPS-75 | — | In service |
| BEL Battle Field Surveillance Radar | In service | — |
| CS/MPQ-90 Bee Eye | — | In service |
| ELCAN Specter | In service | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cited source 2017-10-16 | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2017-10-16 | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2017-10-16 | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2019-12-27 | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2019-12-27 | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2019-12-27 | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 2026 cited source period | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 11 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 28 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 2026 cited source period | 11 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 11 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 2026 cited source period | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 2026 cited source period | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 7 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 450 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 52 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 722 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |