Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Ethiopia vs Uganda
| Overview | Ethiopia | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 503,000Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceFull-time active military personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Excludes the separately reported Reserve military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date or a 2026 headcount. | 45,000Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 138,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 46,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$484mEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 484m. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. | US$1.3bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 1.30bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$126bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 126bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$72.5bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 72.5bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 135,472,051people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 51,384,894people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 0Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | 10,000Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational military reserve pool; excludes the separately reported active and paramilitary personnel. Training/mobilisation definitions remain source-specific. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
195 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Ethiopia | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-21 | — | 5Uganda Air Force · 2023Wikipedia 5Uganda Air Force · 2023Wikipedia |
| Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-23 | 92025Wikipedia 9Ethiopian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Su-35 | 2Ethiopian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 2Ethiopian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Sukhoi Su-25 | 12025Wikipedia 1Ethiopian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Sukhoi Su-27 | 8Air Force · 2025 22Ethiopian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 22Ethiopian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Sukhoi Su-30 | 2Ethiopian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 2Ethiopian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | 6Uganda Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 6Uganda Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Support aircraft | ||
| Antonov An-12 | 3Air Force · 2025 4Ethiopian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 4Ethiopian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Antonov An-26 | 1Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Antonov An-32 | 1Air Force · 2025 1Ethiopian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 1Ethiopian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Beechcraft King Air | 3Ethiopian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 3Ethiopian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | 12024 |
| Beechcraft Super King Air | — | 1Uganda Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 1Uganda Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Cessna 172 | 4Air Force · 2025 4Ethiopian Air Force · 2025 | 4Air Wing · 2025 |
| Equipment | Ethiopia | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| PT-76 | — | 20Ugandan People’s Defence Force · 2025 20Army equipment · 2026Wikipedia |
| T-54/T-55 | 1,1902021Wikipedia | 140Ugandan People’s Defence Force · 2025 140Army equipment · 2023Wikipedia |
| T-62 | 1202021Wikipedia | — |
| T-72 | 5692021Wikipedia | 50Army equipment · 2023Wikipedia |
| T-90 | — | 44Ugandan People’s Defence Force · 2025 44Army equipment · 2017Wikipedia |
| Type 80/88 main battle tank | — | 5Army equipment · 2026Wikipedia |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| ACMAT Bastion | 12Army · 2026Wikipedia | 19Ugandan People’s Defence Force · 2025 |
| Alvis Saladin | — | 36Army equipment · 2026Wikipedia |
| BMP-1 | 20Army · 2025 | — |
| BMP-2 | — | 37Ugandan People’s Defence Force · 2025 31Army equipment · 2026Wikipedia |
| BRDM-1 | 309Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| BRDM-2 | 1,180Army · 2026Wikipedia | 100Army equipment · 2026Wikipedia |
| Equipment | Ethiopia | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| 9K31 Strela-1 | — | In service |
| HQ-6 | In service | — |
| Pantsir missile system | 612022Wikipedia | — |
| S-125 Neva/Pechora | 402021Wikipedia | 4Army equipment · 2026Wikipedia |
| S-75 Dvina | 892022Wikipedia | — |
| SPYDER | 262019Wikipedia | — |
| ZSU-23-4 Shilka | 602008Wikipedia | — |
| Anti-aircraft guns | ||
| 37 mm automatic air defense gun M1939 (61-K) | In service | In service |
| AZP S-60 | In service | — |
| ZPU | In service | In service |
| ZU-23-2 | In service | 5Army equipment · 2026Wikipedia |
| Portable air defence | ||
| 9K32 Strela-2 | In service | In service |
| Equipment | Ethiopia | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| AK-103 | In service | — |
| AK-47 | In service | — |
| AKM | In service | In service |
| AR-M1 | — | In service |
| Beretta BM 59 | In service | — |
| Beretta Model 38 | In service | — |
| Browning Hi-Power | — | In service |
| CAR 816 | In service | — |
| CS/LS6 | — | In service |
| Degtyaryov machine gun | In service | In service |
| DShK | In service | In service |
| FN FAL | — | In service |
| Equipment | Ethiopia | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| Aimpoint CompM2 | — | In service |
| P-18 radar | 12Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Communications & electronic warfare | ||
| Kolchuga passive sensor | 8Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Krasukha | In service | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 16 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 15 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 560 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 40 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 238 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 270 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 89 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 369 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 420 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 309 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 60 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 1,180 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 82 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 40 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 12 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 1,190 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 158 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 160 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 26 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 600 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 12 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 61 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 500 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 569 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 120 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 464 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 309 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 10 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
No shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 1,000 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 cited source period | 44 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | ≥2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 10 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 40 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 35 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 15 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 6 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 15 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 42 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 44 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 140 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 6 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 20 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 15 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 37 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 6 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 19 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 72 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |