Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Morocco vs Tunisia
| Overview | Morocco | Tunisia |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 195,800Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceFull-time active military personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Excludes the separately reported Reserve military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date or a 2026 headcount. | 35,800Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 246,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 48,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$7.55bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 7.55bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [a] Includes autonomous defence spending (SEGMA) and Treasury funding for "Acquisitions and Repair of Equipment for Royal Armed Forces" | US$1.46bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 1.46bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$196bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 196bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$60.4bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 60.4bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 38,430,770people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 12,348,573people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 150,000Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | 0Estimate · people · 2024 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2024 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
373 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Morocco | Tunisia |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| Dassault Mirage F1 | 462024 | — |
| F-16 Fighting Falcon | 232024 | — |
| Northrop F-5 | 22Air Force · 2025 22Royal Moroccan Air Force · 2024Wikipedia | 11Air Force · 2025 10Tunisian Air Force · 2023Wikipedia |
| Support aircraft | ||
| Aero L-59 Super Albatros | — | 6–9Tunisian Air Force · 2023Wikipedia |
| Alenia C-27J Spartan | 4Air Force · 2025 4Royal Moroccan Air Force · 2023Wikipedia | — |
| Beechcraft Super King Air | 8Royal Moroccan Air Force · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| Boeing 737 | 1Royal Moroccan Air Force · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| Boeing 747 | 2Royal Moroccan Air Force · 2004Wikipedia | — |
| Britten-Norman Defender | 14Royal Moroccan Navy · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| C-130J Super Hercules | — | 2Air Force · 2025 2Tunisian Air Force · 2023Wikipedia |
| C295 | In service | — |
| CASA/IPTN CN-235 | 5Air Force · 2025 5Royal Moroccan Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Equipment | Morocco | Tunisia |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Al-Khalid tank | 54Royal Moroccan Army · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| AMX-13 | — | In service |
| M1 Abrams | 384Royal Moroccan Army · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| M41 Walker Bulldog | — | In service |
| M48 Patton | 225Royal Moroccan Army · 2024Wikipedia | In service |
| M60 tank | 340Army · 2025 535Royal Moroccan Army · 2024Wikipedia | 84Army · 2025 90Tunisian Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| T-72 | 148Royal Moroccan Army · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| ACMAT Bastion | — | 8Tunisian Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| Alvis Saladin | — | In service |
| AMX-10 RC | 80Royal Moroccan Army · 2025 | — |
| AMX-10P | 10Army · 2025 10Royal Moroccan Army · 2025 | — |
| ATF Dingo | — | 100Tunisian Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| Equipment | Morocco | Tunisia |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| 2K22 Tunguska | In service | — |
| Aster (missile family) | In service | — |
| Barak MX | In service | — |
| Crotale (missile) | In service | — |
| DARDO | — | In service |
| DK-10 | In service | — |
| HQ-6 | In service | — |
| M163 VADS | 60Army · 2025 | — |
| M167 VADS | 40Army · 2025 | — |
| M42 Duster | — | In service |
| M48 Chaparral | 37Army · 2025 37Royal Moroccan Army · 2025 | 26Army · 2025 26Tunisian Army · 2025 |
| Mistral (missile) | In service | — |
| Equipment | Morocco | Tunisia |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| AA-52 machine gun | In service | In service |
| AK-103 | In service | — |
| AK-105 | In service | — |
| AK-47 | In service | — |
| AKM | In service | In service |
| AMD-65 | In service | — |
| Barrett M82 | In service | In service |
| Benelli M4 | In service | — |
| Beretta 92 | In service | — |
| Beretta APX | In service | — |
| Beretta AR70/90 | In service | — |
| Beretta ARX160 | In service | — |
| Equipment | Morocco | Tunisia |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| Advanced Combat Optical Gunsight | In service | — |
| Aimpoint CompM4 | In service | — |
| AN/MPQ-49 Forward Area Alerting Radar | In service | — |
| AN/MPQ-64 Sentinel | 8Royal Moroccan Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| AN/PEQ-15 | In service | In service |
| AN/PEQ-16 | In service | — |
| AN/PEQ-2 | In service | — |
| AN/PVS-14 | In service | — |
| AN/PVS-7 | In service | — |
| AN/TPQ-53 Quick Reaction Capability Radar | — | 2Tunisian Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| AN/TPS-43 | In service | — |
| AN/TPS-63 | In service | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 37,698,780 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
No shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 1,500 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 12,115,018 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |