Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Malaysia vs Philippines
| Overview | Malaysia | Philippines |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 113,000Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceFull-time active military personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Excludes the separately reported Reserve military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date or a 2026 headcount. | 162,450Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceFull-time active military personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Excludes the separately reported Reserve military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date or a 2026 headcount. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 136,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 157,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$5.08bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 5.08bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$7.69bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 7.69bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [a] Excludes military pensions The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$505bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 505bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$534bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 534bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 35,977,838people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 116,786,962people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 53,600Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | 131,000Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
476 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Malaysia | Philippines |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| British Aerospace Hawk 200 | 12Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 12Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| McDonnell Douglas F/A-18 Hornet | 7Air Force · 2025 7Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 7Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Sukhoi Su-30 | 18Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 18Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Sukhoi Su-30MKM | 18Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Support aircraft | ||
| A400M Atlas | 4Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 4Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 4Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Airbus A319 | 1Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 1Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Beechcraft Bonanza | — | In service |
| Beechcraft C-12 Huron | — | In service |
| Beechcraft King Air | 22024 | 52022Wikipedia 5Naval Aviation · 2022Wikipedia 5Air Force · 2022Wikipedia 5Philippine Navy · 2021Wikipedia |
| Beechcraft Super King Air | 4Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 4Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Boeing 737 | In service | — |
| Bombardier Global Express | 1Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 1Royal Malaysian Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Equipment | Malaysia | Philippines |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Al-Khalid tank | In service | — |
| AMX-13 | 18Malaysian Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| FV101 Scorpion | — | 7Army · 2025 1Philippine Army · 2026Wikipedia 1Philippine Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| M48 Patton | — | In service |
| M915 (truck) | — | In service |
| PT-91 Twardy | 48Army · 2025 49Malaysian Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Stingray light tank | In service | — |
| T-84 | In service | — |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| Anoa (armoured personnel carrier) | In service | In service |
| ASCOD | — | 2Philippine Army · 2026Wikipedia 2Philippine Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| Assault Amphibious Vehicle | — | 63Marines · 2025 8Philippine Marine Corps · 2019Wikipedia 8Philippine Marine Corps · 2019Wikipedia |
| Cadillac Gage Commando | — | 19Marines · 2025 73Army · 2025 130Philippine Army · 2026Wikipedia 18Philippine Marine Corps · 2026Wikipedia 130Philippine Army · 2026Wikipedia 18Philippine Marine Corps · 2026Wikipedia |
| Equipment | Malaysia | Philippines |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| Aselsan Gökdeniz | — | In service |
| DARDO | In service | In service |
| Mistral (missile) | — | In service |
| Rapier (missile) | 3Malaysian Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Sea Wolf (missile) | In service | — |
| SPYDER | — | 9Air Force · 2025 |
| Anti-aircraft guns | ||
| M45 quad mount | — | In service |
| Portable air defence | ||
| Anza (missile) | In service | — |
| FN-6 | In service | — |
| Cruise & anti-ship missiles | ||
| BrahMos | — | In service |
| Exocet | In service | — |
| Kh-31 | In service | — |
| Equipment | Malaysia | Philippines |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| Accuracy International Arctic Warfare | In service | — |
| Accuracy International AW50 | In service | — |
| Accuracy International AWM | In service | — |
| Accuracy International AX50 | In service | — |
| AK-102 | In service | — |
| AKM | — | In service |
| AOR M21 | — | In service |
| AR-M1 | — | In service |
| Barrett M82 | In service | In service |
| Barrett M95 | In service | In service |
| Barrett REC10 | In service | — |
| Benelli M3 | In service | In service |
| Equipment | Malaysia | Philippines |
|---|---|---|
| Remote weapon stations | ||
| Reutech Rogue | In service | — |
| Equipment | Malaysia | Philippines |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| Aimpoint CompM2 | In service | — |
| AN/FPS-117 | In service | — |
| AN/PAS-13 | — | In service |
| AN/PEQ-15 | — | In service |
| AN/PEQ-2 | — | In service |
| AN/PVS-14 | — | In service |
| AN/PVS-7 | — | In service |
| ARTHUR | 2Malaysian Army · 2013Wikipedia | — |
| Giraffe radar | 2Malaysian Army · 2026Wikipedia | In service |
| Ground Master 200 | 1Malaysian Army · 2022Wikipedia | — |
| Ground Master 400 | In service | — |
| LLM01 | In service | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 cited source period | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2023 cited source period | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 2023 cited source period | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Cited source 2024-10-22 | ≥2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Cited source 2024-10-22 | ≥2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 6 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 18 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 20 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 12 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 16 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 13 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 12 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
No shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 1,400 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 cited source period | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2022 cited source period | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2022 cited source period | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 230 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 118 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 76 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1,420 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥200 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥25 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 23 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 18 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 12 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 64 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 12 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |