Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Eritrea vs Mauritius
| Overview | Eritrea | Mauritius |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 301,750Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceFull-time active military personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Excludes the separately reported Reserve military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date or a 2026 headcount. | 0Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. The national header explicitly states NIL; this is not inferred from an absent field. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 202,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 3,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$181.58mUSD · 2003 annual observationSingle source2003 annual observation. Annual military expenditure, current US dollars at the year's exchange rate; not procurement orders. | US$266mEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 266m. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [a] Police service budget |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$2.07bnUSD · 2011 annual observationSingle source2011 annual observation. Annual nominal GDP, current US dollars; not purchasing-power parity. | US$16.8bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 16.8bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 3,607,003people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 1,243,741people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | —Not yet documented | 0Estimate · people · 2024 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2024 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
67 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Eritrea | Mauritius |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| Mikoyan MiG-29 | 4Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Sukhoi Su-27 | 1Air Force · 2025 2Eritrean Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Support aircraft | ||
| Beechcraft King Air | 12024 | — |
| Beechcraft Super King Air | 1Eritrean Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Harbin Y-12 | 4Air Force · 2025 4Eritrean Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Helicopters | ||
| Bell 412 | 1Eritrean Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Eurocopter AS350 Écureuil | — | 1Police Air Wing · 2025 |
| HAL Dhruv | — | 3Police Air Wing · 2025 |
| Mil Mi-17 | 6Eritrean Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Mil Mi-24 | 2Air Force · 2025 6Eritrean Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Mil Mi-8 | In service | — |
| Equipment | Eritrea | Mauritius |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Chonma-ho | In service | — |
| T-54/T-55 | 270Army · 2025 270Eritrean Army · 2025 | — |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| Alvis Tactica | — | 3Special Mobile Force · 2025 |
| BMP-1 | 15Army · 2025 15Eritrean Army · 2025 | — |
| BRDM-1 | In service | — |
| BRDM-2 | 402024Wikipedia | — |
| BTR-152 | 252024Wikipedia | — |
| BTR-60 | 252024Wikipedia | — |
| MT-LB | 102024Wikipedia | — |
| Artillery | ||
| 122 mm howitzer 2A18 (D-30) | In service | — |
| 2S1 Gvozdika | 32Army · 2025 32Eritrean Army · 2025 | — |
| 2S5 Giatsint-S | 13Army · 2025 13Eritrean Army · 2025 | — |
| Equipment | Eritrea | Mauritius |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| ZSU-23-4 Shilka | 32024Wikipedia | — |
| Anti-aircraft guns | ||
| AZP S-60 | In service | — |
| ZU-23-2 | 62024Wikipedia | — |
| Portable air defence | ||
| 9K32 Strela-2 | In service | In service |
| 9K38 Igla | 2002010Wikipedia | — |
| Missiles | ||
| R-27 (air-to-air missile) | In service | — |
| R-60 (missile) | In service | — |
| R-73 (missile) | In service | — |
| R-77 | In service | — |
| Equipment | Eritrea | Mauritius |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| AK-47 | In service | — |
| AKM | In service | — |
| Beretta BM 59 | In service | — |
| DShK | In service | — |
| DSR-Precision DSR-1 | — | In service |
| Heckler & Koch G3 | — | In service |
| Heckler & Koch HK21 | — | In service |
| KPV heavy machine gun | In service | — |
| M14 rifle | In service | — |
| M16 rifle | — | In service |
| M79 grenade launcher | In service | — |
| Makarov pistol | In service | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 6,416,435 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 1,311,375 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
| 2025 annual observation | 1,243,741 people | World Bank; WDI contributors | approved |