Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Morocco vs Sudan
| Overview | Morocco | Sudan |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 195,800Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceFull-time active military personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Excludes the separately reported Reserve military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date or a 2026 headcount. | 104,300Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 246,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 144,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$7.55bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 7.55bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [a] Includes autonomous defence spending (SEGMA) and Treasury funding for "Acquisitions and Repair of Equipment for Royal Armed Forces" | US$375.21mUSD · 2021 annual observationSingle source2021 annual observation. Annual military expenditure, current US dollars at the year's exchange rate; not procurement orders. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$196bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 196bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$39.5bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 39.5bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 38,430,770people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 51,662,147people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 150,000Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | 0Estimate · people · 2025 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2025 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
434 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Morocco | Sudan |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| Chengdu J-7 | — | 12Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 12Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Dassault Mirage F1 | 462024 | — |
| F-16 Fighting Falcon | 232024 23Royal Moroccan Air Force · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| Mikoyan MiG-29 | — | 10Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 10Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-21 | — | 42024 |
| Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-23 | — | 4Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 4Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Nanchang Q-5 | — | 20Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 20Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Northrop F-5 | 22Air Force · 2025 22Royal Moroccan Air Force · 2024Wikipedia 22Royal Moroccan Air Force · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| Shenyang J-6 | — | 8Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 8Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Sukhoi Su-24 | — | 7Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 7Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Sukhoi Su-25 | — | 15Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 15Sudanese Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Support aircraft | ||
| Airbus A320 family | — | In service |
| Equipment | Morocco | Sudan |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Al-Khalid tank | 54Royal Moroccan Army · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| Al-Zubair 2 | — | 50–1002026Wikipedia 50–1002026Wikipedia |
| M1 Abrams | 384Royal Moroccan Army · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| M48 Patton | 225Royal Moroccan Army · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| M60 tank | 340Army · 2025 535Royal Moroccan Army · 2024Wikipedia | 202026Wikipedia 202026Wikipedia |
| T-72 | 148Royal Moroccan Army · 2024Wikipedia | 2302026Wikipedia 2302026Wikipedia |
| Type 59 tank | — | 702026Wikipedia 702026Wikipedia |
| Type 63 (tank) | — | 452026Wikipedia 452026Wikipedia |
| Type 69 tank | In service | — |
| Type 72Z | — | 502026Wikipedia 502026Wikipedia |
| Type 96 tank | — | 402026Wikipedia 402026Wikipedia |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| Alvis Saracen | — | In service |
| Equipment | Morocco | Sudan |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| 2K22 Tunguska | In service | — |
| 9K33 Osa | — | 302026Wikipedia 302026Wikipedia |
| Akash (missile) | — | In service |
| Aster (missile family) | In service | — |
| Barak MX | In service | — |
| Crotale (missile) | In service | — |
| DK-10 | In service | — |
| Hisar (missile family) | — | In service |
| HQ-16 | — | In service |
| HQ-6 | In service | In service |
| HQ-9 | — | In service |
| M163 VADS | 60Army · 2025 | In service |
| Equipment | Morocco | Sudan |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| AA-52 machine gun | In service | — |
| AGS-17 | — | In service |
| AK-103 | In service | — |
| AK-105 | In service | — |
| AK-47 | In service | In service |
| AKM | In service | In service |
| AMD-65 | In service | In service |
| AR-M1 | — | In service |
| Barrett M82 | In service | — |
| Benelli M4 | In service | — |
| Beretta 92 | In service | — |
| Beretta APX | In service | — |
| Equipment | Morocco | Sudan |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| Advanced Combat Optical Gunsight | In service | — |
| Aimpoint CompM4 | In service | — |
| AN/FPS-117 | In service | — |
| AN/MPQ-49 Forward Area Alerting Radar | In service | — |
| AN/MPQ-64 Sentinel | 8Royal Moroccan Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| AN/PEQ-15 | In service | — |
| AN/PEQ-16 | In service | — |
| AN/PEQ-2 | In service | — |
| AN/PVS-14 | In service | — |
| AN/PVS-7 | In service | — |
| AN/TPS-43 | In service | — |
| AN/TPS-63 | In service | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 cited source period | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 30 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 55 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 819 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 91 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 36 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 28 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 13 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 60 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 30 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 263 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 12 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
No shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 4,000 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cited source 2009-06-23 | 11 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 70 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 16 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 30 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 200 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 740 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 16 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥4,000 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 70 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 120 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥500 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 30 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 70 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 30 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 50 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 100 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 300 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥400 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥270 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 300 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 500 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥70 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥100 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 50 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥200 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 80 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥100 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥70 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 10 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 150 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 70 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 50 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 30 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥250 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 70 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 50 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 100 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 200 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 70 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 200 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 45 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |