Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Bolivia vs Brazil
| Overview | Bolivia | Brazil |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 34,100Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. | 339,781people · 31 Dec 2025Single sourceActive military personnel on 31 December 2025, calculated as Army + Air Force + Navy. The report includes military personnel assigned to the Ministry of Defence and to other government bodies within their respective service counts. Excludes civilian employees and inactive personnel; no reserve total is added. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 71,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 762,000people · 2020Single source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$496mEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 496m. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. | US$24.6bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 24.6bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [a] Recurring and investment defence budgets. Includes military pensions The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$64.77bnUSD · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Annual nominal GDP, current US dollars; not purchasing-power parity. | US$2.29tnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 2.29trn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 12,581,843people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 212,812,405people · 2025Single source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 0Estimate · people · 2025 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2025 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | 124,600Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational military reserve pool; excludes the separately reported active and paramilitary personnel. Training/mobilisation definitions remain source-specific. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | 84Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing aircraft classified as Combat aircraft by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of combat readiness. |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | 292Estimate · vehicles · 2025 edition; census date not statedSingle sourceNational MBT fleet reported for the Brazilian Army; includes Leopard 1 and M60 types, excludes wheeled assault guns. |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | 7Estimate · vessels · 10 Aug 2026Single sourceCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates in the national fleet; excludes aircraft carriers, corvettes, patrol, amphibious and support vessels. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | 4Estimate · vessels · 2025 editionSingle sourceCommissioned military submarines in the national fleet; excludes orders, construction and uncommissioned trial boats. Fleet count, not immediately deployable strength. |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | 109Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing military transport aircraft classified as Transport by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Includes strategic, tactical and light liaison/utility transport aircraft; excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of immediate availability. |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
314 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Bolivia | Brazil |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| AMX International AMX | — | 102025Wikipedia |
| Dassault Mirage III | — | In service |
| Douglas A-4 Skyhawk | — | 62025Wikipedia |
| Northrop F-5 | — | 392024 |
| Saab JAS 39 Gripen | — | 13Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| Support aircraft | ||
| Aero Commander 500 family | 1Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Airbus A319 | — | 1Air Force · 2025 |
| Airbus A330 | — | 2Air Force · 2025 |
| Beechcraft King Air | 52025Wikipedia | — |
| Boeing 727 | 1Bolivian Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Boeing 737 | — | In service |
| British Aerospace Jetstream | 22025Wikipedia | — |
| Equipment | Bolivia | Brazil |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Leopard 1 | — | 2612025 |
| M60 tank | — | 312025 |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| Assault Amphibious Vehicle | — | 111998Wikipedia |
| Cadillac Gage Commando | 15Army · 2025 | — |
| Centauro (Tank destroyer) | — | 2Army · 2025 2Army Aviation · 2025 |
| Chevrolet Spin | — | In service |
| Chivunk | — | 102023Wikipedia |
| Dacia Logan | — | In service |
| EE-11 Urutu | 24Army · 2025 | 231Army · 2025 231Army Aviation · 2025 5Brazilian Marine Corps · 2026Wikipedia |
| EE-9 Cascavel | 24Army · 2025 | 409Army · 2025 409Army Aviation · 2025 6Brazilian Marine Corps · 2026Wikipedia |
| Fiat Marea | — | In service |
| Fiat Palio | — | In service |
| Equipment | Bolivia | Brazil |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| Flakpanzer Gepard | — | 342025 |
| HN-5 | In service | — |
| Mistral (missile) | — | 18Brazilian Marine Corps · 2019Wikipedia |
| Sea Wolf (missile) | — | In service |
| Anti-aircraft guns | ||
| 37 mm automatic air defense gun M1939 (61-K) | In service | — |
| Portable air defence | ||
| 9K38 Igla | — | In service |
| RBS 70 | — | In service |
| Cruise & anti-ship missiles | ||
| Exocet | — | In service |
| Penguin (missile) | — | In service |
| Missiles | ||
| Python (missile) | In service | In service |
| Equipment | Bolivia | Brazil |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| Accuracy International Arctic Warfare | In service | — |
| AK-105 | — | In service |
| AK-47 | In service | — |
| AK-74 | In service | — |
| Barrett M82 | — | In service |
| Benelli M3 | — | In service |
| Beretta 92 | In service | — |
| Beretta APX | — | In service |
| Beretta ARX160 | — | In service |
| Beretta M12 | — | In service |
| Beretta M9 | In service | — |
| Blaser R93 Tactical | — | In service |
| Equipment | Bolivia | Brazil |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| AN/FPS-117 | — | In service |
| AN/PVS-7 | — | In service |
| Giraffe radar | — | In service |
| Ground Master 400 | In service | — |
| Saber Radar | — | In service |
| Communications & electronic warfare | ||
| AN/PRC-77 Portable Transceiver | — | In service |
| Mark 36 SRBOC | — | In service |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 cited source period | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 11 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2025 cited source period | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 37 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | ≥50 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 25 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 24 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 24 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 8 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 3 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 18 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 6 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 15 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 36 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 25 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 6 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 3 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | ≥50 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 3 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 8 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 30 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 37 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 19 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 24 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 22 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 24 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥50 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 15 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
A shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 1,700 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 16 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 8 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 64 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 8 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 81 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 30 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 210 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 77 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 8 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 14 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 16 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 7 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 42 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 17 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 409 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 231 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 30 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 7 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 3 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 168 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 14 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 18 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 10 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 15 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 11 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |