Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Azerbaijan vs Oman
| Overview | Azerbaijan | Oman |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 68,200Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceFull-time active military personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Excludes the separately reported Reserve military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date or a 2026 headcount. | 42,600Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 82,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 47,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$5.13bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 5.13bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$6.66bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 6.66bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [a] Excludes security funding |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$80bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 80.0bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$109bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 109bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 10,246,996people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 5,494,691people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 300,000Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | 0Estimate · people · 2024 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2024 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
334 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Azerbaijan | Oman |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| British Aerospace Hawk 200 | — | 10Royal Air Force of Oman · 2026Wikipedia |
| Eurofighter Typhoon | — | 12Royal Air Force of Oman · 2026Wikipedia 12Air Force · 2025 |
| F-16 Fighting Falcon | — | 23Royal Air Force of Oman · 2026Wikipedia |
| Hawker Hunter | — | In service |
| JF-17 Thunder | 9Azerbaijani Air Forces · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Mikoyan MiG-29 | 152024 | — |
| Sukhoi Su-25 | 33Air Force and Air Defence · 2025 21Azerbaijani Air Forces · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Support aircraft | ||
| Airbus A319 | — | 1Royal Flight · 2025 |
| Airbus A320 family | — | 1Royal Flight · 2025 1Royal Household · 2025 |
| Alenia C-27J Spartan | 1Air Force and Air Defence · 2025 2Azerbaijani Air Forces · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Antonov An-2 | 40State Border Service · 2025 | — |
| Boeing 767 | 1Azerbaijani Air Forces · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Equipment | Azerbaijan | Oman |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Challenger 2 | — | 38Army · 2025 38Royal Army of Oman · 2025 |
| FV101 Scorpion | — | 37Army · 2025 120Royal Army of Oman · 2026Wikipedia |
| M60 tank | — | 79Army · 2025 79Royal Army of Oman · 2026Wikipedia |
| T-54/T-55 | 8Army · 2025 | — |
| T-72 | 405Azerbaijani Land Forces · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| T-84 | In service | — |
| T-90 | 93Army · 2025 93Azerbaijani Land Forces · 2023Wikipedia | — |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| Anoa (armoured personnel carrier) | — | In service |
| BMD-1 | 20Army · 2025 20Azerbaijani Land Forces · 2025 | — |
| BMP-1 | 60Army · 2025 60Azerbaijani Land Forces · 2025 | — |
| BMP-2 | 113Army · 2025 113Azerbaijani Land Forces · 2025 | — |
| BMP-3 | 46Army · 2025 46Azerbaijani Land Forces · 2025 | — |
| Equipment | Azerbaijan | Oman |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| 9K33 Osa | ≥90Azerbaijani Land Forces · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| 9K35 Strela-10 | ≥60Azerbaijani Land Forces · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Alvis Stormer | — | 4Royal Army of Oman · 2026Wikipedia |
| Barak 8 | 182016Wikipedia | — |
| Barak MX | In service | — |
| Crotale (missile) | — | In service |
| DARDO | — | In service |
| HQ-9 | In service | — |
| Javelin (surface-to-air missile) | — | 34Royal Army of Oman · 2026Wikipedia |
| Mistral (missile) | — | 54Royal Army of Oman · 2026Wikipedia |
| NASAMS | — | In service |
| Pantsir missile system | ≥10Azerbaijani Land Forces · 2026Wikipedia | 12Royal Army of Oman · 2026Wikipedia |
| Equipment | Azerbaijan | Oman |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| Accuracy International Arctic Warfare | In service | — |
| Accuracy International AW50 | In service | — |
| AGS-17 | In service | — |
| AGS-30 | In service | — |
| AK-105 | In service | — |
| AK-47 | In service | — |
| AK-74 | In service | — |
| AKM | In service | — |
| AKS-74U | In service | — |
| APS underwater rifle | In service | — |
| AR-M1 | In service | — |
| AS Val and VSS Vintorez | In service | — |
| Equipment | Azerbaijan | Oman |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| 1PN58 | In service | — |
| AN/PVS-14 | In service | — |
| AN/PVS-7 | In service | — |
| EL/M-2080 Green Pine | In service | — |
| EL/M-2084 | In service | — |
| EL/M-2238 STAR | In service | — |
| IAI Harpy | In service | — |
| P-40 radar | In service | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 10,694,370 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
No shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 2,200 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 3,969,824 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |