Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Colombia vs Guyana
| Overview | Colombia | Guyana |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 285,000Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceFull-time active military personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Excludes the separately reported Reserve military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date or a 2026 headcount. | 3,400Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 428,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 3,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$9.2bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 9.20bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [a] Excludes security budget The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$242mEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 242m. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$462bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 462bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$27.5bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 27.5bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 53,425,635people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 835,986people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 34,950Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | 670Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational military reserve pool; excludes the separately reported active and paramilitary personnel. Training/mobilisation definitions remain source-specific. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
202 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Colombia | Guyana |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| IAI Kfir | 162025Wikipedia | — |
| Saab JAS 39 Gripen | In service | — |
| Support aircraft | ||
| Aero Commander 500 family | 22025Wikipedia | — |
| Antonov An-32 | 22024 | — |
| ATR 42 | 1Naval Aviation · 2025 5National Police Force · 2025 7Air Force · 2025 5Gendarmerie & Paramilitary · 2025 | — |
| Basler BT-67 | 3National Police Force · 2025 6Air Force · 2025Wikipedia | — |
| Beechcraft King Air | 4National Army of Colombia · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Beechcraft Super King Air | 11Air Force · 2025Wikipedia 4National Army of Colombia · 2026Wikipedia | 12023Wikipedia |
| Boeing 737 | 52025Wikipedia | — |
| Boeing KC-767 | 1Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Britten-Norman BN-2 Islander | — | 2Air Force · 2025 |
| C-390 Millennium | In service | — |
| Equipment | Colombia | Guyana |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Arjun (tank) | In service | — |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| BTR-80 | In service | — |
| Dragoon 300 | In service | — |
| EE-11 Urutu | 56Army · 2025 56National Army of Colombia · 2025 | 242023Wikipedia |
| EE-9 Cascavel | 121Army · 2025 121National Army of Colombia · 2025 | 6Army · 2025 |
| Hunter TR-12 | 102022Wikipedia | — |
| ISBI Meteoro | 16National Army of Colombia · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| LAV III | 32Army · 2025 32National Army of Colombia · 2025 | — |
| M1117 armored security vehicle | 872013Wikipedia | — |
| M113 armored personnel carrier | 28Army · 2025 28National Army of Colombia · 2023Wikipedia | — |
| M3 scout car | In service | — |
| M8 Greyhound | In service | — |
| Equipment | Colombia | Guyana |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| Barak MX | In service | — |
| DARDO | In service | — |
| Mistral (missile) | In service | — |
| Anti-aircraft guns | ||
| M45 quad mount | In service | — |
| Portable air defence | ||
| 9K32 Strela-2 | — | In service |
| FIM-92 Stinger | In service | — |
| Cruise & anti-ship missiles | ||
| Exocet | In service | — |
| SSM-700K C-Star | In service | — |
| Missiles | ||
| Hydra 70 | In service | — |
| Nimrod (missile) | In service | — |
| Python (missile) | In service | — |
| Equipment | Colombia | Guyana |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| AA-52 machine gun | — | In service |
| AK-47 | — | In service |
| AKM | — | In service |
| ArmaLite AR-10 | In service | — |
| Barrett M82 | In service | — |
| Barrett M95 | In service | — |
| Beretta ARX160 | In service | — |
| Beretta M12 | — | In service |
| Beretta M9 | In service | — |
| Browning Hi-Power | In service | — |
| CZ Scorpion Evo 3 | In service | — |
| Daewoo Precision Industries K3 | In service | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 49,842,298 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
No shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 1,600 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 796,742 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
| 2025 annual observation | 835,986 people | World Bank; WDI contributors | approved |