Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
China vs Taiwan
| Overview | China | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 2,000,000Estimate · people · 2025Single sourceReported full-time active military personnel, including serving conscripts where present; reserve pools are not added. This is an estimated headcount, not an authorised establishment, mobilisation potential or readiness measure. The figure is explicitly for the People's Liberation Army. People's Armed Police and militia are not added. | 170,000Estimate · people · 2025Single sourceReported full-time active military personnel, including serving conscripts where present; reserve pools are not added. This is an estimated headcount, not an authorised establishment, mobilisation potential or readiness measure. The source identifies active Armed Forces; no reserve pool or civilian security personnel are added. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 2,535,000people · 2020Single source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 180,800Estimate · people · 2025 edition; census date not statedSingle sourceIISS 2025 edition estimate of active armed forces plus the Coast Guard classified by IISS as paramilitary: 169,000 military personnel and 11,800 Coast Guard personnel. Excludes reserve personnel. This broader total is distinct from the active-regular-only figure. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | 2,750Estimate · aircraft · 2025 assessment · published 23 Dec 2025Single sourceEstimated PLAAF and PLAN Aviation fixed-wing combat aircraft in the 2025 U.S. government assessment: fighters including combat-capable trainer variants, plus bombers/attack aircraft. Excludes the larger all-trainer figure, transport/tankers and special-mission aircraft. | 350Estimate · aircraft · 2025 assessment · published 23 Dec 2025Single sourceEstimated Taiwan fixed-wing combat aircraft in the 2025 U.S. government assessment: first fighter total of 350 plus 0 bombers/attack aircraft. Excludes the parenthesized figure including all fighter trainers and excludes transport/tankers and special-mission aircraft. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$251bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD ε251bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. Source coverage/fiscal-year notes: [b] Central Expenditure budget including local militia funding The printed ε marks this cell as estimated. | US$21.2bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 21.2bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$20.7tnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 20.7trn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$971bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 971bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | 4,700Estimate · vehicles · 2025 edition; census date not statedSingle sourcePLA main battle tank fleet as classified by IISS; excludes the separately listed 1,250 light tanks and 1,200 wheeled assault guns. | 750Estimate · vehicles · 2025 edition; census date not statedSingle sourceNational MBT fleet: Army 650 plus Marines 100. Excludes 100 CM-12 explicitly in store and M41 light tanks. |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | 100Estimate · vessels · 2025 assessment · published 23 Dec 2025Single sourceEstimated national naval cruisers, destroyers and frigates in the 2025 U.S. government Taiwan Strait force-balance assessment. Excludes aircraft carriers, corvettes, patrol, amphibious, Coast Guard and support vessels. Reported fleet quantity, not mission readiness. | 26Estimate · vessels · 2025 assessment · published 23 Dec 2025Single sourceEstimated national naval cruisers, destroyers and frigates in the 2025 U.S. government Taiwan Strait force-balance assessment. Excludes aircraft carriers, corvettes, patrol, amphibious, Coast Guard and support vessels. Reported fleet quantity, not mission readiness. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 1,406,585,000people · 2025Single source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 23,600,776Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS population assessmentSingle sourceCurrent demographic population reported in the November 2025 IISS assessment. IISS identifies US Census Bureau demographic statistics as its population source. No underlying census date or 2026 population census is inferred. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 510,000Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | 1,657,000Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational military reserve pool; excludes the separately reported active and paramilitary personnel. Training/mobilisation definitions remain source-specific. |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | 58Estimate · vessels · 2025 assessment · published 23 Dec 2025Single sourceEstimated PLAN submarine force in the 2025 U.S. government assessment, China Total column: conventional attack, nuclear attack and ballistic-missile submarines. Report publication date is used; this is not a 2026 census. | 4Estimate · vessels · 24 Jun 2025Single sourceTaiwan's four operated submarines reported in June 2025: two Hai Lung-class boats and two older Hai Shih/Hai Pao boats used for training and other limited duties. Includes the older commissioned boats; excludes the then-undelivered Hai Kun prototype. |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | 289Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing military transport aircraft classified as Transport by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Includes strategic, tactical and light liaison/utility transport aircraft; excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of immediate availability. | 19Estimate · aircraft · 8 Oct 2024Single sourceNational in-service fixed-wing military transport aircraft classified as Transport by FlightGlobal/Cirium, summing the Active column across all military services listed for the country. Includes strategic, tactical and light liaison/utility transport aircraft; excludes the separately classified trainers, special-mission aircraft, tankers and helicopters, as well as aircraft in storage, undergoing or awaiting upgrades, and orders. This is the directory's active-role inventory estimate, not a measure of immediate availability. |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | 620Estimate · warheads · 2026 estimateSingle sourceWarheads in the military stockpile: in the custody of the military and earmarked for use by military forces, deployed or in reserve. Excludes retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
710 matching equipment types
| Equipment | China | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| AIDC F-CK-1 Ching-kuo | — | 129Republic of China Air Force · 2025 129Republic of China Air Force · 2023Wikipedia |
| Chengdu J-10 | 372Air Force · 2025 608People's Liberation Army Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 608People's Liberation Army Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Chengdu J-20 | 300–350People's Liberation Army Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 300–350People's Liberation Army Air Force · 2026Wikipedia ≥300Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Chengdu J-7 | 4172024 200People's Liberation Army Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| F-16 Fighting Falcon | — | 1382024 |
| JF-17 Thunder | 2002026Wikipedia | — |
| Lockheed Martin F-16V Viper | — | 141Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 141Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| Mirage 2000 | — | 532024 52Republic of China Air Force · 2023Wikipedia |
| Northrop F-5 | — | 592024 |
| Shenyang J-11 | 50People's Liberation Army Navy Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 50People's Liberation Army Navy Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 95Air Force · 2025 245People's Liberation Army Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 245People's Liberation Army Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Shenyang J-15 | ≥116People's Liberation Army Navy Air Force · 2026Wikipedia ≥116People's Liberation Army Navy Air Force · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Shenyang J-16 | 350–470People's Liberation Army Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 350–470People's Liberation Army Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 330Air Force · 2025 | — |
| Equipment | China | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| CM11 Brave Tiger | — | 450Republic of China Army · 2025 450Republic of China Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| M1 Abrams | — | 80Republic of China Army · 2025 108Republic of China Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| M48 Patton | — | In service |
| M60 tank | — | 100Marines · 2025 200Republic of China Army · 2025 460Republic of China Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| Stingray light tank | — | In service |
| Type 100 tank | In service | — |
| Type 15 tank | 500Army · 2025 1,000People's Liberation Army Ground Force Aviation · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Type 59 tank | 4002025 | — |
| Type 63 (tank) | In service | — |
| Type 80/88 main battle tank | 3002025 | — |
| Type 96 tank | 2,5002025 | — |
| Type 99 tank | 600Army · 2025 ≥1,370People's Liberation Army Ground Force Aviation · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Equipment | China | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| AN/TWQ-1 Avenger | — | 74Republic of China Army · 2025 |
| Antelope air defence system | — | In service |
| FB-10 | In service | — |
| FK-3000 | In service | — |
| HN-5 | In service | — |
| HQ-11 | ≥4Air Force · 2025 ≥4People's Liberation Army Air Force · 2025 | — |
| HQ-12 | 150Air Force · 2025 150People's Liberation Army Air Force · 2025 | — |
| HQ-16 | 2502025 | — |
| HQ-17 | 200Army · 2025 | — |
| HQ-22 | ≥130Air Force · 2025 ≥130People's Liberation Army Air Force · 2025 | — |
| HQ-6 | 30Army · 2025 24Air Force · 2025 30People's Liberation Army Ground Force Aviation · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| HQ-7 | 2002025 | — |
| Equipment | China | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| AGS-17 | In service | — |
| AK-47 | In service | — |
| AKM | In service | — |
| AMR-2 | In service | — |
| Barrett M82 | — | In service |
| Benelli M4 | — | In service |
| Bushmaster M4-type Carbine | — | In service |
| Chiang Kai-shek rifle | In service | In service |
| CS/LR17 | In service | — |
| CS/LR3 | In service | — |
| CS/LR35 | In service | — |
| CS/LR4 | In service | — |
| Equipment | China | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
| Remote weapon stations | ||
| Protector RWS | — | In service |
| Equipment | China | Taiwan |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| AN/FPS-117 | — | 11Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 11Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| AN/TPQ-37 Firefinder radar | — | In service |
| AN/TPS-75 | — | In service |
| CS/MPQ-90 Bee Eye | — | In service |
| IAI Harpy | In service | — |
| LANTIRN | — | In service |
| P-14 radar | In service | — |
| PAVE PAWS | — | 1Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia 1Republic of China Air Force · 2026Wikipedia |
| Sniper Advanced Targeting Pod | — | In service |
| YLC-2 Radar | In service | — |
| Communications & electronic warfare | ||
| AN/PRC-77 Portable Transceiver | — | In service |
| Mark 36 SRBOC | — | In service |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 cited source period | ≥4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 38 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 12 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 40 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 16 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 9 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 17 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | ≥4 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 27 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | ≥18 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 28 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| 2026 cited source period | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | ≥5 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | ≥53 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 53 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 15 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 19 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 135 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 190 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 228 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | ≥120 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | ≥200 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | ≥120 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 400 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | ≥50 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 350 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 45 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 200 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | ≥234 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 24 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 97 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 32 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 245 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 88 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 608 units | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 450 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 52 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 722 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |