Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Belarus vs Slovakia
| Overview | Belarus | Slovakia |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 48,600Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceFull-time active military personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Excludes the separately reported Reserve military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date or a 2026 headcount. | 14,100Estimate · people · 2026 annual estimateSingle source2026 estimate. NATO peacetime military personnel strength; excludes trained reserves held at high readiness. National reporting coverage may differ from regular-force-only headcounts. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 158,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 18,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$1.59bnEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 1.59bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. | US$3.37bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 3.37bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$90.6bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 90.6bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$168bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 168bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 9,085,991people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 5,413,813people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 289,500Estimate · people · 2026 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2026 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | 0Estimate · people · 2025 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2025 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
207 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Belarus | Slovakia |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| F-16 Fighting Falcon | — | In service |
| Mikoyan MiG-29 | 322024 | — |
| Sukhoi Su-25 | 552024 | — |
| Sukhoi Su-27 | 12024 | — |
| Sukhoi Su-30 | 162026Wikipedia | — |
| Support aircraft | ||
| Alenia C-27J Spartan | — | 2Air Force · 2025 |
| Antonov An-26 | 2Air Force and Air Defence Forces · 2025 2Belarusian Air Force · 2024Wikipedia | — |
| Ilyushin Il-76 | 22024 | — |
| Let L-410 Turbolet | — | 52024 |
| Tupolev Tu-134 | 1Air Force and Air Defence Forces · 2025 | — |
| Trainer aircraft | ||
| Aero L-39 Albatros | 102024 | 92024 |
| Yakovlev Yak-130 | 112024 | — |
| Equipment | Belarus | Slovakia |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| Leopard 2 | — | 15Slovak Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| T-72 | — | 30Slovak Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| Aligator 4x4 | — | 42Slovak Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| BMP-1 | — | In service |
| BMP-2 | 906Army · 2025 | 91Slovak Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| BRDM-2 | 752023Wikipedia | In service |
| BTR-70 | 642023Wikipedia | — |
| BTR-80 | 70Army · 2025 153Special Operations Command · 2025 | — |
| BVP-M | — | 17Slovak Army · 2025 |
| Cayman (scout car) | In service | — |
| International MaxxPro | — | In service |
| Iveco LMV | — | 10Slovak Army · 2026Wikipedia |
| Equipment | Belarus | Slovakia |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| 2K12 Kub | — | In service |
| 2K22 Tunguska | In service | — |
| 9K33 Osa | 762022Wikipedia | — |
| 9K35 Strela-10 | 2002022Wikipedia | — |
| Barak MX | — | In service |
| MANTIS Air Defence System | — | In service |
| S-300 missile system | 522026Wikipedia | — |
| S-400 Triumf | 16Air Defence · 2025 | — |
| Tor missile system | In service | — |
| Anti-aircraft guns | ||
| ZPU | In service | — |
| ZU-23-2 | In service | — |
| Portable air defence | ||
| 9K32 Strela-2 | — | In service |
| Equipment | Belarus | Slovakia |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| 9A-91 | In service | — |
| Accuracy International Arctic Warfare | — | In service |
| Accuracy International AW50 | — | In service |
| AGS-17 | — | In service |
| AK-12 | In service | — |
| AK-47 | In service | — |
| AK-74 | In service | — |
| AKM | In service | — |
| AKS-74U | In service | — |
| APS underwater rifle | In service | — |
| AS Val and VSS Vintorez | In service | — |
| Barrett M82 | — | In service |
| Equipment | Belarus | Slovakia |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| 1PN58 | In service | — |
| LLM01 | — | In service |
| Nebo-M | In service | — |
| P-18 radar | In service | — |
| P-35 radar | In service | — |
| P-40 radar | — | In service |
| VERA passive sensor | — | In service |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 9,460,972 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |
No shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 900 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS population assessment | 5,559,451 people | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | superseded |