Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.
NATIONAL FORCES · COMPARISON
Argentina vs Bolivia
| Overview | Argentina | Bolivia |
|---|---|---|
Active personnel DefinitionFull-time active military personnel; exclude reserves and paramilitary unless explicitly identified. | 72,100Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. | 34,100Estimate · people · November 2025 IISS assessmentSingle sourceNational full-time active military personnel; the separately reported reserve, gendarmerie and paramilitary totals are excluded. |
Armed forces personnel DefinitionActive-duty military personnel, including paramilitary forces whose training, organisation, equipment and control allow them to support or replace regular forces. This is not an active-regular-only count. | 103,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. | 71,000people · 2020 annual observationSingle source2020 annual observation. Active-duty military personnel, including qualifying paramilitary forces; not an active-regular-only count. |
Defence spending DefinitionAnnual military expenditure in current US dollars. State fiscal year, coverage and conversion basis in notes. | US$3.69bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS defence budget forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 3.69bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$496mEstimate · USD · 2025 IISS defence budget assessmentSingle sourceSource-reported annual official defence budget/appropriation in current US dollars; it is a budget figure, not an assertion of final expenditure or readiness. Explicit 2025 economic-table year column; USD 496m. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. |
GDP DefinitionAnnual nominal GDP in current US dollars, not purchasing-power parity. | US$668bnEstimate · USD · 2026 IISS nominal GDP forecast (November 2025 assessment)Single sourceAnnual nominal GDP at current market prices, in source-reported current US dollars. Excludes purchasing-power-parity GDP and real GDP growth. Explicit 2026 economic-table year column; USD 668bn. The table was compiled in the November 2025 IISS assessment; this annual figure is an assessment/estimate and does not assert a final audited outturn. The explicit 2026 column is forward-looking relative to the November 2025 assessment and is retained as a forecast, not an observed final outturn. | US$64.77bnUSD · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Annual nominal GDP, current US dollars; not purchasing-power parity. |
Population DefinitionTotal resident population; retain the source's reference year. | 45,851,378people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. | 12,581,843people · 2025 annual observationSingle source2025 annual observation. Midyear resident population estimate. |
Reserve personnel DefinitionReported reserve personnel, with mobilisation and training definitions stated in notes. | 0Estimate · people · 2024 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2024 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. | 0Estimate · people · 2025 source edition; census date not statedSingle sourceMilitary reserve personnel in the 2025 IISS source edition cited by this Wikipedia row. Reservists are not normally kept under arms and are available for mobilisation. Excludes the separately reported Active military and Paramilitary columns. This is the cited edition year, not an exact census date. |
Combat aircraft DefinitionIn-service fixed-wing combat aircraft; exclude stored, retired and ordered aircraft. In service does not establish readiness. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Main battle tanks DefinitionIn-service main battle tanks; exclude storage and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Major surface combatants DefinitionCommissioned cruisers, destroyers and frigates. Exclude patrol craft and support vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Nuclear warheads DefinitionWarheads in the military stockpile, deployed or in reserve; exclude retired warheads awaiting dismantlement. Independent estimates, labelled as such. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Submarines DefinitionCommissioned submarines; exclude vessels on order and decommissioned vessels. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
Transport aircraft DefinitionIn-service dedicated fixed-wing military transport aircraft; exclude trainers and orders. | —Not yet documented | —Not yet documented |
EQUIPMENT & WEAPONS
Equipment listed in inventory and operator sources, grouped by force and category. Sourced quantities retain their date, variant coverage and inventory status. Equipment without a documented count is listed by type.
317 matching equipment types
| Equipment | Argentina | Bolivia |
|---|---|---|
| Combat aircraft | ||
| Dassault Mirage 5 | In service | — |
| Dassault Mirage III | In service | — |
| Douglas A-4 Skyhawk | In service | — |
| F-16 Fighting Falcon | In service | — |
| FMA IA 58 Pucará | In service | — |
| Support aircraft | ||
| Aero Commander 500 family | In service | 1Air Force · 2025 |
| Beechcraft Baron | 12024 | — |
| Beechcraft Bonanza | — | In service |
| Beechcraft C-12 Huron | 2Naval Aviation · 2025 | — |
| Beechcraft King Air | 72024Wikipedia | 52025Wikipedia 5Bolivian Air Force · 2025Wikipedia |
| Beechcraft Super King Air | 72021Wikipedia | — |
| Boeing 707 | In service | — |
| Equipment | Argentina | Bolivia |
|---|---|---|
| Tanks | ||
| M915 (truck) | 80Argentine Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Tanque Argentino Mediano | 404Argentine Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Armoured vehicles | ||
| Alvis Tactica | 9Argentine Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Assault Amphibious Vehicle | 11Marines · 2025 | — |
| Cadillac Gage Commando | — | 15Army · 2025 |
| EE-11 Urutu | — | 24Army · 2025 |
| EE-9 Cascavel | — | 24Army · 2025 |
| Fiat CM6614 | In service | — |
| M113 armored personnel carrier | 204Army · 2025 318Argentine Army · 2025 | ≥50Army · 2025 |
| M577 command post carrier | 20Argentine Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| M9 half-track | — | 37Army · 2025 |
| Mowag MR 8 | 602008Wikipedia | — |
| Equipment | Argentina | Bolivia |
|---|---|---|
| Air defence | ||
| DARDO | In service | — |
| HN-5 | — | In service |
| Anti-aircraft guns | ||
| 37 mm automatic air defense gun M1939 (61-K) | — | 18Army · 2025 18Air Force · 2025 |
| Portable air defence | ||
| RBS 70 | In service | — |
| Cruise & anti-ship missiles | ||
| Exocet | In service | — |
| Missiles | ||
| AIM-9 Sidewinder | In service | — |
| AIM-9X Sidewinder | In service | — |
| Python (missile) | In service | In service |
| SS.12/AS.12 | In service | — |
| Equipment | Argentina | Bolivia |
|---|---|---|
| Small arms | ||
| AA-52 machine gun | In service | — |
| Accuracy International Arctic Warfare | — | In service |
| AK-47 | — | In service |
| AK-74 | — | In service |
| Barrett M95 | In service | — |
| Benelli M3 | In service | — |
| Beretta 92 | — | In service |
| Beretta BM 59 | In service | — |
| Beretta M9 | — | In service |
| Beretta Model 38 | In service | — |
| Beretta Px4 Storm | In service | — |
| Bersa Thunder 9 | In service | — |
| Equipment | Argentina | Bolivia |
|---|---|---|
| Remote weapon stations | ||
| Protector RWS | In service | — |
| Equipment | Argentina | Bolivia |
|---|---|---|
| Radar & sensors | ||
| ACAR Ground Surveillance Radar | 19Argentine Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| AN/PVS-5 | In service | — |
| AN/PVS-7 | In service | — |
| AN/TPS-44 | 3Argentine Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Flycatcher (radar) | In service | — |
| Ground Master 400 | — | In service |
| RASIT | 44Argentine Army · 2026Wikipedia | — |
| Communications & electronic warfare | ||
| AN/PRC-152 | In service | — |
Coverage is incomplete. “Not documented” means no linked inventory evidence, not zero equipment. Methodology ↗
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 2 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 408 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 44 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 36 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 28 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 19 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 9 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 40 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 1,000 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 30 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 50 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 25 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 200 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 44 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 3 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 8 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 4 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 5 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 1,000 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 800 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 388 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 20 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 28 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 200 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 40 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 100 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 100 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 40 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 500 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 64 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 108 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 38 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 230 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 2 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 250 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 60 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 6 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
A shared land boundary is represented in the Natural Earth dataset. Approximate separation between the dataset’s country label points: 1,900 km.
Generalized geography from Natural Earth 1:110m, version 5.1.1. Label-point distance is calculated on a sphere and rounded to the nearest 100 km; it is not a capital-to-capital distance, route, border distance or operational range. Dataset boundaries do not imply recognition of territorial claims.
Boundaries: Natural Earth 1:110m, v5.1.1 · Public domain · Research catalogue highlighted
Scores out of 100 on the ForceTally Index. Each bar splits in proportion to the two scores. A point at the centre of the chart means no sourced figure for that part.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 1 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 250 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 18 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 18 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 22 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 37 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | ≥50 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 25 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| November 2025 IISS assessment | 4 units | International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) | approved |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 19 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 15 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 22 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 24 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 37 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | ≥50 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 24 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-01 · inventory date unstated | 30 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | ≥50 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 19 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 1 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 30 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 15 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 22 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 24 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| Source snapshot 2026-10-02 · inventory date unstated | 24 units | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |