Loading the evidence…
Preparing your view.
Preparing your view.

Armoured vehicles1990–present
Armoured fighting vehicle
WZ-551 is a armoured fighting vehicle originating in China. The cited manufacturer or builder is Norinco , at Factory 256 (西南车辆制造厂Southwest Vehicles Factories).
Armoured fighting vehicle
China
1990–present
See Operators
Boko Haram insurgency Somali Civil War ECOWAS military intervention in the Gambia Al-Shabaab Insurgency in Cabo Delgado Tigray War Myanmar civil war (2021–present)
Jiang Hong [WZ-551B] at NORINCO Vehicle Research Institute; institute 201 (中国北方车辆研究所 China Vehicles Research Institute) and Institute 202
Norinco , at Factory 256 (西南车辆制造厂Southwest Vehicles Factories)
12.5 to 15.8 tonnes
6.63 m
2.80 m
2.80 m
3 + 9 passengers
Welded steel
ZPT-90 25 mm (ZSL-92) QJC-88 12.7 mm (ZSL-92A) ZPT-99 30 mm (ZSL-92B) PTP-86 100 mm (PTL-02)
Type 86 7.62mm coaxial machine gun
BF8L413F 8-cylinder, turbo-charged, air-cooled diesel 320 hp
ZF 5S-lllGPA mechanical transmission
Independent wheel
800 km
85 km/h
Algeria
Angola
Argentina
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Burkina Faso
Burundi
Cameroon
Chad
China
Djibouti
Equatorial Guinea
Ethiopia
Gabon
Guinea
Indonesia
Iran
Ivory Coast
Kenya
Laos
Mali
Mauritania
Mozambique
Myanmar
Nepal
Niger
Oman
Papua New Guinea
Pakistan
Senegal
Sri Lanka
Sudan
Tanzania
Venezuela
Zambia
Zimbabwe
Reference text from Wikipedia contributors, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
True scale
Sourced dimensions beside a 1.75 m human reference.
Points represent sourced observations, including revisions. Revisions on the same effective date are not separate inventory events. Ranges appear in the table and are not plotted as exact points.
| Observation / report period | Value | Source | Claim state |
|---|---|---|---|
| 28 Sept 2026 | 6.63 m | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 28 Sept 2026 | 6.63 m | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 28 Sept 2026 | 6.63 m | Wikipedia contributors | superseded |
| 28 Sept 2026 | 6.63 m | Wikipedia contributors | approved |
WZ-551 equipment records. Variants, orders and quantities are shown as reported in each inventory source; coverage is incomplete.
Lower-bound count for PTL-02 Assaulter. Service scope: Angolan Army; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): quantity: 9+. Origin: China. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. Dates are the count-cell citations' stated source period (2024), not the article revision. 2024 cited reference period. Edition or publication years do not claim an exact inventory census day.
Number column of the Wikipedia list table under "Armored vehicles". The list's own wording applies; it is a compiled secondary source, not an official census.
Number column of the Wikipedia list table under "Tank Destroyers". The list's own wording applies; it is a compiled secondary source, not an official census.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551 (CP). Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Number column of the Wikipedia list table under "Tank destroyers". The list's own wording applies; it is a compiled secondary source, not an official census.
Number column of the Wikipedia list table under "Tank destroyers". The list's own wording applies; it is a compiled secondary source, not an official census.
Army exact named equipment holdings: ZSL-92. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / IFV. Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army holdings of the exact named WMA-301 component, counted as equipment units: active, operational reserve and training equipment, excluding equipment in store. Service-scoped IISS observation, not a national total or combat-readiness figure. No parent, sibling, mounted-weapon or heading aggregate quantity inherited. Source + explicitly states a lower bound; no upper bound is inferred. Source lower bound; upper bound not specified.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Number column of the Wikipedia list table under "Armored personnel carriers". The list's own wording applies; it is a compiled secondary source, not an official census.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551 (incl CP). Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: ZSL-92. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Reported count for WZ-551. Service scope: Royal Army of Oman; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): quantity: 50. Origin: China. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. The components do not establish one inventory census date; the stored date is the retrieved source snapshot.
Reported count for WZ-551. Country-wide list; no individual service specified. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): quantity: 4. Origin: China. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. The components do not establish one inventory census date; the stored date is the retrieved source snapshot.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551 (CP). Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551 (reported). Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551 (CP). Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Army holdings of the exact named WZ- 551 component: active, reserve operational and training units, excluding equipment in store. This is a service-scoped observation, not a national total or combat-readiness count. No parent-design, sibling-variant, heading aggregate or mounted-weapon total is inherited.
Lower-bound count for WZ-551. Country-wide list; no individual service specified. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Excludes retired/reserve/on-order rows. Count column(s): in service: 200+. Origin: China / Sudan. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. The components do not establish one inventory census date; the stored date is the retrieved source snapshot.
Reported count for WZ-551. Service scope: Tanzanian Army; does not replace a national total. 1 distinct count cell(s) from the same source list; shared rowspan cells counted once. Retired, wholly reserve and on-order rows are excluded; the reported count retains any explicitly mixed stock scope in the quoted row. Count column(s): quantity: 10. Origin: China. The listed variants/roles are the scope, not an immediately deployable count. The components do not establish one inventory census date; the stored date is the retrieved source snapshot.
Army exact named equipment holdings: WZ-551. Active, operational-reserve and training units excluding equipment in store; November 2025 IISS assessment. Named service only; no parent-force or national total inferred. Source role: ARMOURED FIGHTING VEHICLES / APC (W). Original estimates, ranges, reporting names, reserve, lease and employment scopes retained; nested included counts are not added. Missile-system quantities mean launchers, not rounds. No readiness, crew, carried weapon, payload, factory-production or future order count inherited.
Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Chad, China, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea, Indonesia, Iran, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Laos, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Pakistan, Senegal, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Tanzania, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Equipment reference ↗Army holdings of the exact named ZSL-92 component, counted as equipment units: active, operational reserve and training equipment, excluding equipment in store. Service-scoped IISS observation, not a national total or combat-readiness figure. No parent, sibling, mounted-weapon or heading aggregate quantity inherited.
Army holdings of the exact named WZ-551 component: active, reserve operational and training units, excluding equipment in store. This is a service-scoped observation, not a national total or combat-readiness count. No parent-design, sibling-variant, heading aggregate or mounted-weapon total is inherited.
Army holdings of the exact named WZ-551 component: active, reserve operational and training units, excluding equipment in store. This is a service-scoped observation, not a national total or combat-readiness count. No parent-design, sibling-variant, heading aggregate or mounted-weapon total is inherited.
Army holdings of the exact named WZ-551 component: active, reserve operational and training units, excluding equipment in store. This is a service-scoped observation, not a national total or combat-readiness count. No parent-design, sibling-variant, heading aggregate or mounted-weapon total is inherited.
Army holdings of the exact named WZ-551 component: active, reserve operational and training units, excluding equipment in store. This is a service-scoped observation, not a national total or combat-readiness count. No parent-design, sibling-variant, heading aggregate or mounted-weapon total is inherited.
Army holdings of the exact named WZ-551 component; source lower bound; upper bound not specified. Active, reserve operational and training units, excluding equipment in store. This is a service-scoped observation, not a national total or combat readiness. Any explicit leased subset is included in, not added to, the quoted total. No parent-design or sibling-variant count inherited.